1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

USB ports I have 4, one is 2.0 dunno which is

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by saiyuki, Jun 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. saiyuki

    saiyuki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    I have 4 USB ports. three are 1.1, and one is 2.0. I want to know which is 2.0, and which ones are 1.1 I know that one is 2.0, cause of this program i have called Karen's Computer profiler. Shows it.



    Is there a program to show which one is? with tests or summt? cheers
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    51,692
    Are all the ports on the motherboard? If so what motherboard do you have. Since USB ports are always in pairs, at least 2 will be 2.0 if not all. The motherboard manual will state if you have USB 2.0 ports and where they are located. If the card is an add-in then refer to its manual to see if its USB 2.0. Also USB 2.0 controllers appear aas Enhanced Universal Bus Controllers in Device Manager.
     
  4. saiyuki

    saiyuki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Well, I assumed that I only had one, as there was only one 2.0 on the profiler, where as there are 3 1.1.

    I have 2 ports at the back, and 2 at the front. Dont know where they are attached or whatever. It says on the front of my computer that there is USB 2.0 support on a little sticker. Hehe

    Any help in the attachment?, and What is that Standard Enhanced PCI to USB controller Doo-Wacky?
     

    Attached Files:

    • usb.jpg
      usb.jpg
      File size:
      161.9 KB
      Views:
      72
  5. big_pimp

    big_pimp

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    191
    ok this might sound stupid.. cos it prolly is? but er im guessing if u need to find out it means u have some kind of hardware that needs to run on usb 2.0

    errr welll i've used the wrong port b4 2.0 on a 1.1 and it didnt blow up...

    cant u just try the product that runs on 2.0 on all 4 sockets?

    if its a 1.1 socket it just wont work ?
    if its a 2.0 socket it will work?

    and if u have all 1.1 hardware it will work in any?

    am i oversimplifying things?
     
  6. saiyuki

    saiyuki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    I dont have any 2.0 hardware which wont work on 1.1, i was just wondering which was 2.0 heh

    i'll try a speed test on summt
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    saiyuka, all of your ports appear to be USB 2.0.
     
  8. XbrvhrtX

    XbrvhrtX

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    366
    If you have a USB 2 device, try plugin it in all the available ports, usuallywindows will tell you you have a USB2 device pluged into a 1.1 port
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/236084