usb ports not working

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

rathole22

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 20, 2001
Messages
6
I went and bought a 4 port 2.0 usb card because my front ports didn't work. Kodak says they will not help me with tech support using the card, but my front ports don't work. Any ideas?
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Were the front ports USB 2 and why did you add another card. What OS are you running and what camera are you attempting to set up?
 

rathole22

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 20, 2001
Messages
6
to tell you the truth, I didn't notice the ports in the front and it was an older machine so I didn't think it had any. Win 98 se. Kodak easyshare 4330
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2000
Messages
6,832
If the computer came with only front ports there is a good chance they aren’t connected. I’ve never seen an installation with front USB only – but I guess anything is possible. Look around closely for rear ports. If you missed the front ones you could also have missed the ones in the rear.

Go to device manager and look for USB. Make sure there are no warnings. Also check on the card in device manager that it is installed and active. Then boot to your CMOS/BIOS and make sure the USB is active. That might activate your built-in ports.

I take it you have attempted to install the camera using the card. Did you follow the instructions exactly as to whether you connect the camera before or after the software install? Did you get a new hardware indication when you plugged the camera into the card?
 

rathole22

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 20, 2001
Messages
6
no warnings. yes card installed and working.boot to your CMOS/BIOS and make sure the USB is active. hmmm not sure how to do that. I'm not a whiz on this puter thing. And ,I almost think I connected the camera first then the software. Backwards. I didn't read before I started playing with it.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2000
Messages
6,832
Try doing it the right way. Uninstall the software – probably from add/remove programs in control panel.. Remove the camera both in device manager and in control panel under scanners and cameras. Disconnect the camera USB. Read the instructions again and install it correctly. USB devices often don’t work if you don’t bother with the instructions.

If you are using the card there is probably not any reason to mess with the BIOS. The suggestion was primarily for the onboard USB. The card is probably better if you don’t require support from Kodak.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2001
Messages
447
w98se won't support usb2.0, only usb1.1 and that poorly. if you want to get the most out of usb you really need to update to xp or w2000 pro.

Gavi, Certified Photographic Counselor and Nikon Advanced System Specialist
 

rathole22

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 20, 2001
Messages
6
Thanks for all your help. I finally got ahold of the right tech guy and he straightened me out and got it going for me.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top