1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

USB Ports Not Working?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Frank2001, Jan 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Frank2001

    Frank2001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    I have Windows XP and having been using this laptop for well over a year now but suddenly as soon as I plugged in my iPod the other day, (Which I have done many times before without a problem) I get a message at the bottom of the screen telling me there's a power surge in my hub port. I also noticed that my iPod wasn't being recognized. So I unplugged my iPod, afraid that it would fry it or something and haven't used the laptop for a few days now.
    Well, now I've decided to move all my files to a new computer seeming as how this one looks like it's going to have problems but the thing is, my USB ports won't recognize anything anymore! I need to be able to plug in my flashdrive one last time to transfer all my files but my computer won't recognize it. It's like the drivers are shot. I have no idea what to do, I really want to be able to transfer all these files before I ditch the computer. Help?
     
  2. RaytheBear

    RaytheBear

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    628
    Do you have a DVD burner?
    Have you tried a System Restore?
     
  3. itsjusme

    itsjusme

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    836
    Are you using an external USB hub, or are you talking about the ports on the laptop itself?

    If you have a hub plugged in, disconnect it and try a flash drive plugged directly into the laptops usb port.
     
  4. Frank2001

    Frank2001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    No, I don't have a DVD Burner and I've never tried a system restore.
     
  5. Frank2001

    Frank2001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    The hub ports on the laptop itself is what was giving me the problem, I kept getting an error message that there was a power surge, I'm not sure what that means.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Ports Working
  1. Poerboy
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    512
  2. dml54bubba
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    444
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/976811

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice