1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

USB ports

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by chrishart3, Jul 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. chrishart3

    chrishart3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    When I plug - in a USB device a box appears, telling me the device could run faster if I changed to another port and when I click the box as asked, I am given a list of ports to choose from. It appears to me that my PCMCIA card which is supposed to providing USB2 speed will not do so without a port change. How do I know which port to choose and how do I select it?
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    What PCMCIA USB card do you have? If the card is USB 2.0 then all the ports on the card should run at USB 2.0.
     
  3. chrishart3

    chrishart3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    It's a Belkin PCMCIA card, powered and contains 2 ports. It puzzles me that th pop-up box emerging from the System Tray is telling me to change port and it doesn't tell me how to do it.
     
  4. RFX

    RFX

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    All that message is saying is to plug the device into a another USB port. Which model of Belkin card and how is it powered?
     
  6. chrishart3

    chrishart3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    It's a Belkin PCMCIA card and powered with the 5volt 300Ma supply that came with it. The driver CD is called Belkin Hi-Speed USB 2.0 Driver.
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
  8. chrishart3

    chrishart3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    I've used the URL you gave me and downloaded and installed an updated driver. I shall be interested to see whether this helps. Thank you.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/597350

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice