usb stick saying:please insert a disk into drive

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

PK-her0

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 17, 2007
Messages
1,553
hi guys

i have a peak 2gb usb stick
it says please insert a disk into drive g when i double click on it.
when i get properties on it, it says 0 bytes

i googled this and it shows you how to format it...

is there any way to retrieve data off it...very important data.
without formating the drive.

please help
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
PhotoRec is probably the best tool you'll find for recovery from those drives.

But, it is electronic and the data may not just be sitting there waiting for recovery like it would be on a mechanical drive. All the data can be destroyed in a "flash" with those drives if there is a malfunction.

Failing Photorec to help, you could also check for a missing partition table with:

Testdisk (for Windows)
Testdisk Boot Floppy Image
Testdisk on Live CD
 

PK-her0

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 17, 2007
Messages
1,553
yes i have recovered partitions with test disk...its hit and miss really
My usb stick has a logical drive...its m
but test disk is only seing c,d and e
why is this?
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
What is M:? What do you mean by "logical drive"? Is there supposed to be more than one partition on the stick? If there is, and you can have as many as you like, Windows will only see the first.
 

PK-her0

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 17, 2007
Messages
1,553
test disk will only see
c,d,e (all on my hard drive)
and it sees Q: which is a virtual cdrom drive (daemon tools)

but no f: which is the stick
but it is coming up in disk manager / admin tools

sorry...not logical drive...just the drive letter...sorry again
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Testdisk is not likely to assign the same drive letters, so don't use them to identify drives. Use sizes.

Does the USB stick show up as a drive in Device Manager?
 

PK-her0

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 17, 2007
Messages
1,553
no its not in device manager. and in disk manager it says no media...i cant even format it...
i think it must be broken
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top