1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

USB to serial port adapter not working on Windows 8

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by hbrracing, Feb 25, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hbrracing

    hbrracing Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    I have 2 different adapters and neither one will work on my new computer with windows 8. Any fixes? Are there any adapters available that will work on windows 8?
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,547
    Welcome to Tech Support Guy

    What is the serial device you are trying to connect
    What is the make of the USB to serial adapter

    The problem is that the processor chip - YES they do have one, is not in many cases compatible with Windows 8, especially 64 bit, as of course the actual working of the adapter is achieved by connection to the USB port and then transmission of data from and to the USB hub.

    Not knowing what you actually wish to connect your best first port of call is here to see what is on offer
    http://uk.startech.com/Cards-Adapters/Serial-Cards-Adapters

    scroll down for USB to serial or click USB on menu at top
     
  3. hbrracing

    hbrracing Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    The Serial device is a Dynojet motorcycle dyno, the 2 adapters I have are
    Gigaware® 6-ft. USB-A to Serial Cable


    Model: 26-949

    | Catalog #: 26-949 http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3120513

    and

    Airlink 101 model # AC-USBS http://airlink101.com/products/ac-usbs.php

    I called their tech line for both and they both said they are not compatible with windows 8
     
  4. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,547
    I had never heard of it, but
    http://www.dynojet.com/motorcycle_dyno/atv_dyno_default.aspx

    obviously cannot help, unless the Dynojet will work with a cable from the link I provided.

    My history briefly - in earlier days
    NSU moped - Quickly
    BSA 125 Bantam
    BSA 175 Bantam
    Triumph Tiger Cub 200
    Honda 175 twin
    Francis Barnett bought as a rusty wreck whilst I had the BSA 175

    Good luck
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1090971

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice