1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Use Current Greyed Out

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Deke40, Feb 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Deke40

    Deke40 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,553
    I guess this isn't a big deal but I wonder why.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. NotRite²

    NotRite²

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    507
    Have you tried and IE repair?
     
  3. Deke40

    Deke40 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,553
  4. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,189
    SOunds like a system policy has been set by IE or another piece of malicious code so you cannot change thise setting. Run hijak this
     
  5. sponsor

    sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    417
    do you have spybot, etc. etc.. installed. if so see their settings.
     
  6. Deke40

    Deke40 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,553
    I use to use the registry hack to lock my homepage(same one used by Spybot) but found out it is useless from outside attacks and removed it.

    Here is my Hijack log. All of these are on my ignore list.

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 7:08:02 AM, on 2/16/04
    Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\KERIO\PERSONAL FIREWALL\PERSFW.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGSERV9.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGCC32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\CLIPOMATIC\CLIPOMATIC.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://g.msn.com/0SEENUS/SAOS05
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Deke's Internet Explorer
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 6.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.DLL (disabled by BHODemon)
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHELPER.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\windows\googletoolbar_en_2.0.107-deleon.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [PersFw] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\KERIO\PERSONAL FIREWALL\PERSFW.EXE"
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Avgserv9.exe] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\Avgserv9.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [TClockEx] C:\PROGRAM FILES\TCLOCKEX\TCLOCKEX.EXE
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Clipomatic] C:\PROGRAM FILES\CLIPOMATIC\CLIPOMATIC.EXE
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Open Frame in &New Window - C:\WINDOWS\WEB\frm2new.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Highlight - C:\WINDOWS\WEB\highlight.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Web Search - C:\WINDOWS\WEB\selsearch.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Links List - C:\WINDOWS\WEB\urllist.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Zoom &In - C:\WINDOWS\WEB\zoomin.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Zoom O&ut - C:\WINDOWS\WEB\zoomout.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Images List - C:\WINDOWS\Web\imglist.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Find Definitions... - http://www.onelook.com/ol-def-reg
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://C:\WINDOWS\GOOGLETOOLBAR_EN_2.0.107-DELEON.DLL/cmsearch.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Cac&hed Snapshot of Page - res://C:\WINDOWS\GOOGLETOOLBAR_EN_2.0.107-DELEON.DLL/cmcache.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Si&milar Pages - res://C:\WINDOWS\GOOGLETOOLBAR_EN_2.0.107-DELEON.DLL/cmsimilar.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward &Links - res://C:\WINDOWS\GOOGLETOOLBAR_EN_2.0.107-DELEON.DLL/cmbacklinks.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate into English - res://C:\WINDOWS\GOOGLETOOLBAR_EN_2.0.107-DELEON.DLL/cmtrans.html
    O12 - Plugin for .bcf: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPBelv32.dll
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37863.4623263889
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/2003120501/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9A9307A0-7DA4-4DAF-B042-5009F29E09E1} (ActiveScan Installer Class) - http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/as5/asinst.cab
     
  7. prodsupptech

    prodsupptech

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    274
    that's how it is. If you type an address in that is now your current webpage. You don't need to run hijack this to me that has the potential to be spyware. People no longer diagnose and fix problems the good old fashioned way. I am system administrator on my machine and use current is greyed out. If you could have multiple start pages at a time you could probably chose and use current wouldn't be greyed out. You have nothing wrong with your machine. Also everyone else reading this thread right click your internet explorer and go to properties I can assume that probably all of yours show the same.
     
  8. Deke40

    Deke40 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,553
    Use Current was always avaiable until I locked it out and unlocked it a few times. The only annoyance is not being able to one click to change my home page.

    I think you would get some nay sayers on doing it the old fashioned way on spyware with all the high tech scumbags out there trying to invade your pc for their enjoyment.
     
  9. prodsupptech

    prodsupptech

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    274
    if you want to change your homepage just copy the link and paste it in there. Then again that's the only way i've ever done it besides just clicking the make homepage link they have on some pages. But there is absolutely nothing wrong with your computer. I just checked the computers in the network and they're all like that.
     
  10. Len_25

    Len_25

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Mine is not greyed out- but Im not on a network either
     
  11. prodsupptech

    prodsupptech

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    274
    I never said that hijack this or spyware removers were bad. I use them myself I just see that as the only solution to every problem when noone checks their machine first. You said your use current was greyed out, so I looked at my internet settings and it showed the same so what i'm saying is noone does the traditional checks first before using programs like hijack this that only show you what's running anyway. If you are going to recommend anything recommend using seek and destroy it removes any spyware that is on it. Also one more thing in the event that you do have a backdoor or some spyware running that people can connect to and you paste it with hijack this anyone reading this forum can connect to you so that's another issue I have with hijack this being everyone in here's solution.
     
  12. Deke40

    Deke40 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,553
    I realize there is basically nothing wrong with my pc but usually all or none of the three choices there are greyed out and the url window is also.

    I guess I have to much time on my hands.
     
  13. prodsupptech

    prodsupptech

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    274
    its probably this here
    HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel present in your registry so using hijack this would probably find that but still peopel aren't checking simple things first. And I can change my homepage so being in a network doesn't have anything to do with it. Microsoft has a patch that tries to block attempts on hijacking internet explorer.
     
  14. Len_25

    Len_25

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Quick question for you. Are you running Spybot Search and Destroy? If you are, check under Immunize, then Recommended miscellaneous protections. UNCHECK the box that says "lock IE start page against user changes (current user)". This will enable you to change your home page within internet options.
     
  15. Deke40

    Deke40 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,553
    Thanks anyway but read #6.

    Spywareblaster also has this setting.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/204049