1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved use sfc/scannow with 64 bit windows

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Shortcutter, Feb 10, 2017.

Advertisement
  1. Shortcutter

    Shortcutter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    273
    I have completed an sfc/scannow using command prompt in my Windows 7 Home Premium computer but notice the command prompt menu always comes up directing scan to 32 bit. I am on a 64 bit computer but cannot see in any of usual web help pages whether this matters or whether I need to add additional details to the command prompt to cover my 64 bit files. A couple of web pages suggest that 64 bit is the DEFAULT so I am a bit confused.

    Sorry if this a dumb question but would be grateful for help.
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    50,548
    go to start/search & type cmd
    when that appears in search list select cmd prompt & right click it, select run as admin & then the 64 bit version of cmd will run and you can then use sfc /scannow as 64 bit
     
  4. Shortcutter

    Shortcutter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    273
    cmd 32 bit snip.PNG

    Thanks. Should the command menu black and white screen SAY 64 bit because when I followed your directions it still came up saying 32 bit like this:
     
  5. Oddba11

    Oddba11 Jim

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6,232
    Where do you see "32 bit"?

    system32 is the folder name
     
  6. Shortcutter

    Shortcutter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    273
    Duh ! You are right of course. Thanks for reply. Marking this solved. Scannow could not find any problems.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1185121