1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Useful Browser and System Checker

Discussion in 'General Security' started by Tabvla, Jan 5, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tabvla

    Tabvla Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,554
    Found a rather useful tool to check the following: -

    1. Default Browser or All Browsers
    2. Plugins
    3. System
    4. MS Security Updates

    Can be used either as a simple Browser check or you can download and install a Plugin

    3 Levels of checking - Basic, Intermediate and Advanced

    Benefits - Superfast scans. The "Fix" button really works. Clear results.

    Scanning and fixing any issues works much faster that any other method that I have tried.

    Link : https://browsercheck.qualys.com/

    T.
     
  2. PSCO2007

    PSCO2007

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    730
    Tried this program.

    It keeps wanting to update this program, even though it did 3 times.:confused:

    Also tells me that Chrome is old version - not so.

    Now it says Windows update missing - it is there.

    Think I can do without this program.(n)
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Tabvla

    Tabvla Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,554
    Hi Paul, sorry to hear that you could not get this scanner to work for you.

    The Screenshot that you attached shows an out-of-date Adobe Flash Player, which is correct, there is an update to Flash, so in the case of that Screenshot the scanner is reporting correctly.

    The Screenshot does not show any of the other things that you mention, so sorry that I cannot help you there as I cannot see what you are referring to.

    For general information.

    Qualys has an excellent reputation in the industry and is used by companies such as Microsoft, Oracle, Gartner and 50 of the 100 top global companies. Qualys was awarded the "Security Vendor of the Year" award for 2013.

    On all the computers that I have used this scanner I have never experienced any problems and have found it to be one of the most useful tools for a quick-check that Browser updates are up-to-date. This is particularly helpful when a User has several Browsers installed (IE, Firefox, Chrome, Opera.... etc) and numerous Plugins as all Plugins on all Browsers can be checked simultaneously within just a few seconds.

    T.
     
  4. PSCO2007

    PSCO2007

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    730
    I clicked "Fix" 3 times and it said successful, but every time I ran a new scan it said "out of date."

    As I said, it also said Chrome version is wrong, but when I checked the version it was the newest.(Version 39.0.2171.71 dev-m)

    Thanks anyway - I'll stick to the tried and true methods.
     
  5. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,371
    First Name:
    Derek
    That is why chrome is being detected as out of date (Version 39.0.2171.71 dev-m)
    You have a developers version & not a user version.
     
  6. PSCO2007

    PSCO2007

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    730
    Don't know how I got a developer's version, but I ran the scan again and it says "Up to date."

    I just downloaded it again from Chrome Site and now it shows this --Version 39.0.2171.95 m
     
  7. Tabvla

    Tabvla Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,554
    Pleased to note that you got the problem sorted Paul.... (y)

    The Scanner also has a Plugin for the default Browser. If you install the Plugin then you don't have to bother with checking manually. The Scanner will do a background scan every day to check for any updates.

    One less thing to be bothered with is always a plus.

    T.
     
  8. PSCO2007

    PSCO2007

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    730
    I installed the plug-in and also clicked Advanced and checked "all browsers", but it only checked IE and Chrome

    Left out Firefox and Slimboat.
     
  9. Tabvla

    Tabvla Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,554
    Hi Paul, the reason for that is because your versions of Firefox and Slimboat are up-to-date.

    Slimboat is powered by Chrome and is typically 1 update behind Chrome. Therefore if Chrome is up-to-date Slimboat is by default up-to-date.

    T.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1140607

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice