1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

User Account access across the network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Tiorum, Jul 22, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tiorum

Tiorum Thread Starter

Hi again,

As I am new to networking, I hope this isn't too noob a question. I have 4 machines on a network with a router/hub. I have various things stored on different machines, and don't really want to put them all in a central location. My question is that the way XP seems to work is that in order for one machine to log into another, each machine must have a seperate user name on each computer. Normally I foundn't find this to be a big deal, but now when you turn on the computer, you have to type a password when logging in (turning on) the machine. Before it would automatically log in that user. Is there some way to have all the permissions set for each machine but avoid this log hassle? With the exception of the kids machine, all the users would stay the same all the time. There wouldn't be a need to have so many accounts. The way I have it set up now, everything works but there are 4-5 accounts on each machine. Is there a better way?

Thanks

2. surfr

surfr

you could set it to auto logon and when it boots it should go directly into the specified profile. if you go to the user account in the control panel you should be able to disable secure login and get it to work.

3. Tiorum

Tiorum Thread Starter

I found this in the microsoft knowledge database for anyone who might want to know the solution which worked really well for me. I did the registry edit version.

How to Enable Automatic Logon in Windows
    The information in this article applies to:
    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional