1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

User Accounts Inquiry

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by astardust78, Jan 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. astardust78

    astardust78 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Is there and How would i set a user account up, or I should say change, to only have access to internet, and a couple other programs ONLY and nothing else AND they cannont download anything or view pornographic material????:cool: On a windows xp. I figured out how to change to limited account, but they still have access to all the programs, etc.,
     
  2. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
  3. astardust78

    astardust78 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Okay i dowloaded it, and pasted to my desktop and I installed it from there. I restarted my computer logged back in, and I dont see it!! The icon still there to install, but it says its already instaleed. So my question is , how do I use this program and where is it. Do i have to be in safe mode, and go under owner, because I am the administrator??
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Fascinating, I didn't know MS had anything like that available. Makes for a great "sandbox" system for software and security analysis.
     
  5. astardust78

    astardust78 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Can somebody please tell me how to use this utility?? I dont know how to access this after I installed it.????
     
  6. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  7. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    I have no experience with the utility but it sounds like all that you have on the desk is an icon for the install file. Have you looked under programs possibly under accessories?
     
  8. astardust78

    astardust78 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    I figured part of it out, I was downloading the wrong thing. Now I have part of it installed, but now its saying something about window scripting reapir or reinstall. I have to idea what that is, so i dowloading something called tweaker that sounded good, but it wants a location to use it. Im not sure if thats the right thing I was suppose to download or not, and where to put it???:confused:
     
  9. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  10. astardust78

    astardust78 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Thank you...finally got it. They should make it alot easier by tellin you what you need prior to installing for people like me....LOL...thank you
     
  11. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    :) (y)

    Let us know how the program fits your needs. You are our guinea pig :) I've posted a link to the program in the Moderators forum and others have shown interest, including Techguy himself.
     
  12. astardust78

    astardust78 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    I'm still working on getting all the way installed. Well its installed, but I needed alot of other programs, I guess before I can even start it. SOme of them are mentioned above, and now I'm working on something called disk partitioning, appartently I have to allocated some of my disk space,w hatever this means inable to use the program fully. so i will let you know how that goes, and whats next. So far this program is very diffficult, alot of steps involved before you cane ven use it.:eek:
     
  13. astardust78

    astardust78 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Okay i downloades some free utility to do this allocation called digital dolly, however i dont know how to burn that to my disk because thats what it says to do. ????
     
  14. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Stop right there. I wouldn't want to repartition a drive with some freeware utility. You might not want to do it in any case. This is a risky procedure which, if it goes wrong, can make a system unbootable.

    Burning .iso files is actually fairly simple, it just requires 3rd party burning software and a writable CD. Double clicking the downloaded .iso file should bring up the burning software's interface and it should be self-guiding.

    Unfortunately I think this operation is too risky for the expected benefits unless you are confident of what you are doing.
     
  15. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    I have no idea why you are partitioning the disk. There is no need to repartition your disk to use the utility I posted above. If you read the system requirements before you installed it, you would have realized what you needed.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - User Accounts Inquiry
  1. flavallee
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    270
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/437591

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice