1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

using a 19 " monitor connected to laptop

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Jeff B, Oct 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jeff B

    Jeff B Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Hello,
    I have a 14.1" Thinkpad T30 with a bad screen (burned out backlight bulb and wires). I just connected a new 19" wide screen monitor to use at my desk. The images of my XP Pro OS fit the screen perfectly. But I just realized all the circles look like ovals (the image is stretched left to right). How can I adjust the image so I will have true circles? I don't mind if I'm searching the web, but I can't create graphics with this distortion.

    Is this adjustable from my computer -- I can't seem to adjust the size off the monitor.

    Thanks!
    JB
     
  2. BG-0

    BG-0

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
    First try this, if you haven't Right click on the desktop, choose properties -> settings -> change resolution to 1440x900 or some other widescreen resolution.. If that's not possible.. It's propably tied to the resolution of its own monitor, and you need a monitor with the same aspect ratio... (Don't take that as a fact, others may have a working solution...)
     
  3. nate93

    nate93

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    bg-o has your problem. the thinkpads all have square resolutions. so basicly when you connect a widescreen monitor to it, it stretches out the square image to make it into a rectangle thats 16x9 or 16x10, and thats where you get the ovals from
     
  4. Jeff B

    Jeff B Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    I would like to be able to switch back and forth from square to wide screen. It definitely makes it difficult to draw a true circle.
    JB
     
  5. JSanguancheu

    JSanguancheu

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,824
    After you plugged the monitor into the laptop, did you try a reboot?

    I had a similar problem at work when I was connecting a PC that originally was connected to a 17" CRT monitor to a new KVM switch that had a 19" widescreen monitor attached. The PC wouldn't recognize the new monitor or offer any widescreen resolutions. After reboot though, the new monitor was recognized and the proper resolutions were available.
     
  6. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,478
  7. Jeff B

    Jeff B Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    I've been checking all the settings, rebooting, etc. But the only dimension changes are made on my desktop. When I open Photoshop Elements it fills up the wide screen which distorts whatever I'm doing. As I said, the image is fine for internet viewing, but not when you need accurate geometric shapes. Still need some suggestions?
    Thanks
     
  8. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    What resolution is the display set to?
     
  9. Jeff B

    Jeff B Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    1024 x 768
     
  10. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    That's not a wide-screen resolution and will cause the display to stretch. What are your options for resolution? Hopefully one is supported.
     
  11. Jeff B

    Jeff B Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    1440 X 900, 1280 X 1024, 1024 X768, 800 X 600
    These are the 4 resolutions. I can adjust from right clicking on desktop, However, if I am working in Photoshop or any other screen the image fills wide screen and distorts.
    How do I make the adjustment work in all screens?
    Thanks
     
  12. BG-0

    BG-0

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
    Hmm. So you say there's something wrong with it if you set it to 1440x900?
     
  13. JSanguancheu

    JSanguancheu

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,824
    1440 x 900 should be the default resolution for widescreen.

    If you use any of the other resolutions then you will get distortion.
     
  14. Jeff B

    Jeff B Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    when I change resolution to 1440X900 my desktop image changes proportion accordingly(no distortion) BUT when I go into my graphics program (or anywhere else) the image fills the screen and is stretched. How do I set the resolution to work no matter what program I am in?
    JB
     
  15. JSanguancheu

    JSanguancheu

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,824
    What programs exactly are you experiencing this distortion?

    It's odd that applications would not auto adjust to the current Windows resolution.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/755304

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice