1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Using a air compressor to clean dust off?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by soulschizm, Jul 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. soulschizm

    soulschizm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Does anyone here have any information on using an Air compressor to clean your case/hardware/anything from the dust?

    Like the right PSI? Moisture? anything really? *Also i wasn't 100% sure if this was the right area to post but considering using an air compressor could damage my hardware it felt right i do apologize if this was the wrong area to post*

    So any information at all would help thanks :)

    Also my dad said there's like these glass bulbs u can buy for an air compressor that hook into it and collects any moisture he uses nail guns alot for work and they say u shouldn't get any in the gun but to be honest they never worried about it and nothing ever happened. Anyway getting off subject wondering if anyone had any information would be great i am also using Google to find some info. *so not 100% lazy :D* but i figured if anyone knew about using an AC it would be people on this forum. thanks again if you can help :)

    Thank you
    Soulschizm

    forgot to add idk if it helps but it is a Oil free air compressor
     
  2. 1002richards

    1002richards Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,333
    Hi,
    I just use cans of compressed air from computer stores, just every few weeks - nothing heavy.
     
  3. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Even with the condensation collectors on it,it can still have moisture
    in the air out put.
    The only way to really make sure with a compressor is to have an air
    dryer connected to it,and those are expensive.
    The other problem is watching the pressure.
    To much pressure can dislodge surface mount components and
    damage the electronics.
     
  4. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    I frequently use my Compressor for dusting out my computer set at 10-15psi. I also keep my Shop vac running with the collection nozzle about 5 inches away from the computer itself to suck the dust up before it settles back onto my work bench. Never does the Vac get any closer to the computer case.
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,143
    First Name:
    Frank
    What works good for me is a hand-held hair dryer on high speed and cool setting. (y)

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. soulschizm

    soulschizm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    well ive heared of people doing it. i just dont know the correct information i guess more googling awaits :D.

    thanks anywase guys ^^

    and with the canned air lol the way i am if i can save 5 or so bucks with something i already have iama try. but only if i have the 100% right information and i feel comfortable doing so.

    thanks again guys/gals :)
    Soulschizm
     
  7. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    I use a WD40 turbo air duster,but they seem hard to find nowadays.
    Not high pressure,but with the brush,it is good for general cleaning.
     
  8. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,481
    First Name:
    Jim
    I use my air compressor all of the time for cleaning all of my PC's. And I have for several years now. As noted above, you'll just want to be careful of high pressures. And ensure you hold any fans from spinning (regardless of air source).
     
  9. soulschizm

    soulschizm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Hey oddba11 what PSI do u use when u do it?
     
  10. fairnooks

    fairnooks Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5,251
    I use a farm-tire compressor. Tool Time Tim would be proud. Its possible to blow the case right over with it but of course its only a dangerous tool in the wrong hands. Used it for years and years without any ill effects; the damn things aren't THAT delicate. PSI is whatever its got at the time (up to 160)....BRING IT!
     
  11. soulschizm

    soulschizm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    lol..right 160 lol mhm way off my number tbh i dont plan on going over 30 psi = / lol maybe 40 because u can use the air tool to adjust how much air does come out but i like to be on the safe side lol
     
  12. fairnooks

    fairnooks Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5,251
    Right : ) obviously one could do damage but only if one is not aware.
     
  13. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,620
    When I get a real dirty system to work on, I take it out to the garage and attach a blow gun with a VERY small nozzle to the air compressor. This limits the volume of air and does no damage to parts. I run the compressor at normal psi ie 75~90 or so however with the nozzle it limits the air volume so as to not cause any problems.

    In short I see nothing wrong with using the compressor as long as you are careful.
     
  14. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,865
    Be sure to hold the fans ... over spinning them can cause fan problems.

    There a small chance that I've damaged a Mobo and a PSU by using a shop vac to blow out the dust.
    Which leads to the question .... What about a static charge ??
     
  15. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Vacuums use high speed rotary impellers that can develop a static charge.
    Compressors use pistons,so there is not really a static problem.

    Most CPU heatsinks can be removed.
    Remove the fan from the heatsink and wash the heatsink with soap and water.
    Rinse it clean and let it dry completely.
    Use isopropyl alcohol to clean the bottom of the heatsink.
    Reattach the fan,apply thermal compound and reinstall it.
    You can just dust off the fan while it is off.
    Good as new.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1006490

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice