1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Using a shared printer on another subnet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by kenneth2k1, Oct 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kenneth2k1

    kenneth2k1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    252
    At my office, we have two networks: One for our district and one for the agents. From our main router, we have two other routers (192.168.1.x and 192.168.2.x) that split the network. If I have a locally shared printer on the agent network, can I connect to it from a pc on the district side?

    Thanks,
     
  2. stod73

    stod73

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    One domain for all subnets?
     
  3. kenneth2k1

    kenneth2k1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    252
    yeah one domain (well really we don't use domains).

    Could I put the IP of the shared printer PC on an open port or something?
     
  4. stod73

    stod73

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Do you even have a network? What is handing out IPs?
     
  5. kenneth2k1

    kenneth2k1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    252
    Our router acts as the DHCP server.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Why screw around with multiple subnets if you don't need them?
     
  7. kenneth2k1

    kenneth2k1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    252
    We do need them. It keeps our district PCs from being visible to the agent's workgroup.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    You have a "master" router, with a "district" router and an "agent" router each connected via WAN port to a "master" LAN port? If not, please skip the remainder of this, and clarify your network.

    From a district PC, ping the (WAN address) of the agent router. Make sure the agent router is not set to reject incoming pings. IF you get responses, you're half way home.

    Now all you have to do, MAYBE, is put the printer into the agent router's DMZ, or figure out what ports need to be forwarded to the printer.

    If you try this, PLEASE, PLEASE tell us what happens! It's taken me 10 days to think of this and I now hunger for some feedback.
     
  9. kenneth2k1

    kenneth2k1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    252
    Ok, I'll try it tomorrow and let you know. Thanks for the help.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/407601

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice