using an external monitor as a primary monitor for a laptop

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

anonymous11

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2015
Messages
2
The laptop our family shares recently had its monitor broken. It displays half of the screen, but will not stop shaking. I have it hooked up to an external monitor, but I am unable to use it to display the laptop screen without changing the display settings via the laptop. Is there some command I can use to set the external monitor to display the laptop screen? Or do I need to replace the laptop screen?
 
Joined
May 29, 2006
Messages
3,969
First Name
Shane
Hi and welcome to TSG.

The FN+F4 keyboard shortcut is the common one for switch between displays. It will cycle through laptop screen, external monitor and clone (or similar). If you have the external monitor plugged in and the laptop on, try using that keyboard shortcut a few times, wait 3-5 seconds or so between each press it is isn't always instantaneous.

Once you have the display showing on the monitor you can adjust any resolution settings to make sure it works correctly.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2010
Messages
619
It would help if you told us what laptop you have and what operating system.

As Tanis said there's usually a FN + F key shortcut, for which F key you will need to tell us the model of your laptop.

If you're running Windows you can also use the Windows logo key + P
 

anonymous11

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2015
Messages
2
It uses windows 8. The fn + other buttons did not work for me. I tried using windows key and p before classes today. This brought up another menu on the side that I can't make out due to the screen flickering. Could someone pobbibly list keyboard buttons I could use to navigate this and set it to mirror the display?
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
20,242
First Name
Liz
I don't run Win8 but in my Win 7 the choices from left to right are:
Computer only
Duplicate
Extend
Projector Only (this would be the external monitor, I assume) Just tried this and it shows the display on only my monitor, not the computer screen.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
360
It uses windows 8. The fn + other buttons did not work for me. I tried using windows key and p before classes today. This brought up another menu on the side that I can't make out due to the screen flickering. Could someone pobbibly list keyboard buttons I could use to navigate this and set it to mirror the display?
if you give the laptop model number we can be more specific, otherwise anything said is just a guess.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top