1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Using both AVG and Adaware?

Discussion in 'General Security' started by snarfblast, Mar 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. snarfblast

    snarfblast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    I'm running AVG antivirus, Adaware anti-malware, and Zone Alarm firewall on my Win7 x64 machine. That's what I used a long time ago and recently switched back from Comodo and Avira. I just started using port forwarding software again (PFconfig), and it wasn't compatible at all with Comodo and/or Avira.

    So now, my system is running much, much slower and is crashing at least once a day. Is this because AVG and Adaware are on the same machine? I used a registry cleaner, and it didn't help. I remember back in the day Adaware used to only target adware, so you also needed an antivirus. It seems like these days software kind of does everything.

    So that's a roundabout way of asking: Do I need Adaware plus an antivirus? Is my setup leading to increased instability?

    Thanks!
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,885
    newer versions of adaware include an antivirus component so it is very possibly clashing with AVG. However ZA also has limited antivirus capabilities & AVG does have a basic firewall component built in

    on a 64 bit computer all those programs seems to be more problematical & I sugggest using windows firewall & the Microsoft Security Essentials Antivirus
    with UAC set to always alert & that is a sensible protection

    It is always better with W7 to run day to day as a Limited ( standard) user & then UAC will prompt for username & password of the admin account when installs are needed

    That way it is virtually impossible to get infected, unless you deliberately install a malware
     
  3. kotje

    kotje

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    i suggest you to remove all thirth-party protection besides windows built in security.
    then check if all security in windows is active except antivirus offcourse,
    and use the free avast @ http://download.cnet.com/Avast-Free-Antivirus/3000-2239_4-10019223.html?part=dl-85737&subj=dl&tag=button

    ^^^^home use only^^^^

    to my understanding will win 7 security + avast 6 free replace all your protection and more
    if you only use > avg , adaware , zonealarm

    PS: replacing 3 security programs by one that protects you more will surely increase your system preformence

    any comments by anyone are welcome as im not really an expert but if it comes to having a clean running system i really havent had any major issues even when i was only a 14 y old brat :)
     
  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,885
    Kotje
    your link may well be innocent but redirect links that go in such a convoluted way are always suspicious so have been removed for safety reasons
     
  5. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,058
    AVG doesn't behave well with Windows Defender if you are running them together. Besides, AVG has been nothing but trouble lately. And, Windows Defender is useless.

    Ad-Aware is quite outdated and should be replaced with much better alternatives like the free versions of Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware or SUPERAntiSpyware.

    Free antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials

    Paid antivirus: ESET NOD32 (my personal favorite) light on system resources.

    Firewall for Windows 7: Windows Firewall

    I see in your computer specs that you have a meagre 512 MB of RAM. That will never be sufficient for Windows 7. It's even low for XP!
     
  6. snarfblast

    snarfblast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Oh wow, those are my old system specs. I will update that ASAP.

    So I took off Ad-Aware and AVG, and installed Avast. Kept the Zonealarm firewall. This has greatly improved system performance.

    BUT

    Now my computer does a hard lockup at least once, sometimes twice a day. Not happy about that. I may just go back to Vista, as PFConfig and Chaoslauncher gave me way fewer problems with Vista. With all these nasty lockups I'm due for a reinstall. Not looking foward to it, as I only did it five months ago.
     
  7. kotje

    kotje

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    I'm glad to hear your system runs a bit better with avast,
    alltho going from win 7 to win vista seems :eek: for a few lockups

    could you reply the log file of hijackthis and the text from systeminfo

    hijackthis : http://software-files-l.cnet.com/s/...1642007&psid=10227353&fileName=HijackThis.exe

    sysinfo : http://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe

    btw ; does these lockups happen randomly ???( be so specific as possbile )

    i would still suggest to remove zonealarm ; it may well be that the win 7 firewall has problems with it
    alltho this is just a though
    i assume you can still re-install it if you really want it ; just check it for a few days orso

    allso if i look at all the posts you made here it seems you do not have any programs looking for malware
    therefor i would suggest to use "malwarebytes 'antimalware" for a full system scan
    ( avast should not interfere with this program if its up to date > 6.0.1000 on win 7 to be exact,
    no idea if zonealarm would interfere with the scan, remove as suggested or disable temp. if so)

    malwarebytes 'antimalware: http://software-files-l.cnet.com/s/...=10804572&fileName=mbam-setup-1.50.1.1100.exe
    PS: during setup of malwarebytes make sure you check the option to update
    when the program starts just choose a full system scan and select all

    PS2: double check if comodo is removed
    >>>> http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f139/solved-removing-comodo-283578.html

    heres a list of all possible comodo software (free) >10 different programs orso
    comodo free software list : http://www.comodo.com/products/free-products.php

    PS3: are you sure that avira is completly removed?
    have you used the removal tool from the avira site below
    avira removal tool : http://www.avira.com/en/support-download-avira-antivir-removal-tool

    (edit) PS4: in windows 7 ; In System security select advance properties. the go to firewall settings , there you'll find inbound and outbound option and ports selection options
    _______________________________________________________________________________

    and please don't go back to vista :(

    <<win95=bad ; win 98=good ; win 2000=bad ; win xp=good ; win vista=bad ; win 7=good ; win 8="fill in yourself">>

    <<just my thoughts>>^^^
     
  8. snarfblast

    snarfblast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Thing about Vista vs 7 is that I've had way more problems in general with 7 than Vista. Vista was always more stable for me.
     
  9. kotje

    kotje

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    i understand your frustration and i cant blame you
    but if you give up for every pc problem , thats your choice

    still if you have any fight left in you read and do my previous post

    greetz kotje
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/986010