1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Using external Hard drive as internal

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by actingman101, Nov 5, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. actingman101

    actingman101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    My brother has PC with with a couple 2-3 hundred gigs. He is already running out of space on his computer, as he is a gamer, but only has two games. I've tried to delete a bunch of unneeded files, but that didn't work. Our dad then got him an one terabyte external hard drive. At this moment, I'm trying to figure out how to use it to get more space on his computer. This is my first time on this site after I looked through the interwebs to find nothing of use. Is there a way to make an external hard drive look external to the computer (run with male USB) or at least use it for extra space?
     
  2. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    5,916
    Not sure what you mean by your question. But when you plug in any external drive, Windows will recognize it as a hard drive and assign a drive letter to it. You can then use it like any normal internal drive.

    Where things get dicey is if you intend to install programs or have programs point to this drive for basic execution. You can run into a situation where if you use different external drives that there will be a "pointer" issue. But if this is the only external drive you'll use, then it shouldn't present a problem.
     
  3. actingman101

    actingman101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    3

    I'll see if that's the case.
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    37,756
    Why not get a bigger internal drive to replace the existing one? If this is a desktop, it really is a no brainer to install a new hd. If this is by chance a laptop, you can still replace the existing drive however cloning the old to the new one gets slightly more complicated.
     
  5. actingman101

    actingman101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    I'm not gonna pay for it, that's why. my dad's pretty cheap with that sort of stuff. I figured out the problem, all I needed to do was move the steam games to it, and I figured that out
     
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    37,756
    Remember IF you plug in different drives, the drive with whatever program you moved, may not work due to a different drive letter being assigned. This AND the fact that external drives are not as reliable as an internal drive is the reason for suggesting installing a larger drive.
     
  7. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    75,599
    This one of those cases where justbecause it can be done doesnt mean it should. I tried it years ago and had nothing but headaches. Ended up buying an internal drive.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1198986

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice