using ide cables backward

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

plschwartz

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 15, 2000
Messages
11,451
I have a removable HDD in the 5.25 bay and cannot reach it from my 3.5 bay with an IDE cable.
Is there a good reason not to reverse IDE cables so the short run is between the board and a hdd with the long run to to removable hdd?
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
I don't think it will work that way :confused:

I have a system open, guess I could test that theory........
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
8,812
It would work fine, but you may have to go into the bios and make sure the boot drive is set correctly afterwards...
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Interesting gotroot, now I will have to test it :D
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2002
Messages
1,278
Whether it will work or not depends on ONE thing

Is this a normal 40 wire ide cable or a hi speed 80 wire cable?

If its the former it will work, the latter will not as the last pin/wire is cut.

I have done just what your planning on several occasions

Good Luck
 

plschwartz

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 15, 2000
Messages
11,451
Thanks guys.
Tho I will await the empirical approach by candy if rmay is correct there goes the easy answer.(it is 80 wire cable)
I am planning to use the removable HDD to transfer large photoshop files between two houses
Maybe the easiest way to to buy a usb2 portable drive case.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
You can probably do it with an 80 pin cable, but you'll have to jumper the drives as master/slave, and not use Cable Select. FWIW, I just went on the web and purchased a few longer 80 conductor IDE cables when faced with a similar issue. I keep a couple about for large towers where normal cables won't reach.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
pls, I haven't had time for the experiment, had a client yesterday with press yahoo problems :eek: In my opinion that's not a problem but for him it was :D

I'd go along with the folks who have tried it. If you try it and it works, great, if it doesn't, nothing will blow up ;)
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
You can also get custom cables made if you want to do it right.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Rockn said:
You can also get custom cables made if you want to do it right.
You mean like the longer ones I mentioned earlier? :)
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2003
Messages
3,956
Or you can get a 3.5 to 5.25 bay converter for the hard drive and move the hard drive to an empty 5.25 bay.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top