Using Windows XP VPN Capability

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

LiquidWrench

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
7
I am trying to set up a VPN for my Church so that all important files can be kept on a server and updated there. I tried using Windows XP and have been all over the Web. I believe that XP capability is all that we really need but after setup it won't connect. I have been through the step by step procedure that Microsoft told me to go through. Our church really doesn't have the cash to pay for VPN software. can someone help me to accomplish this task?:) :) :D
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
317
why do you think you need a VPN to do what you want?
you may be making things harder than you need.

Are the computers involved in the same building?

What have you done to setup what you have tried?
 

LiquidWrench

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
7
LiquidWrench said:
I am trying to set up a VPN for my Church so that all important files can be kept on a server and updated there. I tried using Windows XP and have been all over the Web. I believe that XP capability is all that we really need but after setup it won't connect. I have been through the step by step procedure that Microsoft told me to go through. Our church really doesn't have the cash to pay for VPN software. can someone help me to accomplish this task?:) :) :D
We need access to the church's info. therer are several of us who deal with this info and instead of having more than one copy that has to be manually synchronized and updated I want to place the master files on a server and allow each one of us to access them remotely. The computers are not located in the same building. I went through the setup on the website:
http://www.onecomputerguy.com/networking/xp_vpn_server.htm
I tried to set it up just to connect my laptop to my desktop station for test purposes.
it tries to go through the connection process but does not connect.
I thought it was an IP Address problem so I connected using another internet connection but to no avail. I want to connect to this workstation no matter where I go.
 

LiquidWrench

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
7
Just an added note I use a 2Wire DSL (Gateway) Router for my for my home network.
I checked the 2Wire website and it said that the gateway was already configured to allow for VPN Connections.
 

LiquidWrench

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
7
Yes my home network works fine. I want others to connect ot my home server computer and access the programs needed. They are not a part of my home network as they do not live here. That is why I got the idea for a VPN
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
317
test was to connect your laptop to your desktop, how?

VPN needs to know IP addresses of computers
involved. How did you get those values?
 

LiquidWrench

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
7
The test was to connect my laptop to my desktop using Windows XP VPN Capability.
It apparently failed as I was not able to connect.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
317
LiquidWrench said:
The test was to connect my laptop to my desktop using Windows XP VPN Capability.
It apparently failed as I was not able to connect.



were they directly connected?

connected through a router?

how did you get IP values to setup VPN?
 

LiquidWrench

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
7
My Desktop is connected to th internet and home network through a 2Wire 1701HG Gateway Router. My Laptop can also access my network and internet through this same router. To test the VPN link between the two computers I first performed the steps that are called for on http://www.onecomputerguy.com/networ...vpn_server.htm
on my desktop to make it the server. I then performed the steps called for on the same sit to set up my laptop. I obtained the IP Address for both machines by going to http://www.showmyip.com./. The problem here is that th IP Address shown there is te same for both machines, which tells me that it is assigned by AT&T and is not static. I also was able to log onto the internet using a unsecured wireless network that I can pick up from my living room. I logged into it and checked my IP again at http://www.showmyip.com./ and then used that IP Address which made them different.
no matter what I did it did not work.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Yes, your WAN IP address would be the same for both computers since they are going out the same AT&T modem.

To find the LAN IP address, you would need to do a:
Start / Run / CMD
then run
IPCONFIG /all > c:\ipconfig.txt
then run
notepad c:\ipconfig.txt

You would also need to do the appropriate port mapping to your VPN server's LAN IP address in the router as mentioned on the VPN Server page.
 

LiquidWrench

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
7
Ok after deleting all previous attempts on both machines and making the necessary adjustments in the router I was able to connect but only when my laptop used my own internet connection. I then tested it with another internet connection but it would not work. Is this because I was not connected to the 2Wire network. I need to find out how to connect from other locations. I really do appreciate the information so far. Every step toward my goal is a good one. I am trying to make it easy for people who are fairly computer illiterate to use.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top