1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Using your Chat Icon

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by singe57, Sep 25, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. singe57

    singe57 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Hi,
    I have been having real problems generally download multiplaying games which as to yet has not been solved. Also for example with this site I cannot even connect to the "chat" here at all. All I get "could not connect to server [forums.techguy.org.8080]"

    Can anybody help here please.

    Thank you Sandra
     
  2. e-liam

    e-liam

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,242
    Hi Sandra, and welcome to TSG.. :)

    Could you please download 'Hijack This!' from http://www.spywareinfo.com/files/hijackthis.zip
    Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan". When the scan is finished, click "Save Log", and copy and paste it in a reply.

    This will give us a rundown of what’s going on in your PC. One of us here will be glad to analyse it for you. Don’t fix anything yourself yet, as a lot of the stuff on that list will be harmless or required.

    Cheers

    Liam
     
  3. singe57

    singe57 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    I cannot seem to send my attachment. It needs to be in a special format and I get is log files and All Files.

    Regards Sandra
     
  4. e-liam

    e-liam

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,242
    Hi Sandra,

    You don't need to send it as an attachemnt. When you save it, it is saved as a notepad file. If you click the mouse cursor in the text somewhere, press Ctrl+A, then Ctrl+C, this will copy the log. Then open a reply to this thread and pressCtrl+V, this will paste into the reply. Ad any other text you want, then post it.

    Cheers

    Liam
     
  5. singe57

    singe57 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Hi Liam,

    Thank you for that, enclosed is my log.

    Kind regards Sandra



    ogfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
    Scan saved at 13:50:29, on 25/09/03
    Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MDM.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\TREND MICRO\PC-CILLIN 2002\PCCPFW.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\B'S CLIP\BSCLIP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\REAL\REALPLAYER\REALPLAY.EXE
    C:\FREESERVE\FREESERVECONNECTIONKIT\ATDIALLER1.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\TREND MICRO\PC-CILLIN 2002\PCCCLIENT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\TREND MICRO\PC-CILLIN 2002\POP3TRAP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\RunDLL.exe
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WZQKPICK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\UNZIPPED\HIJACKTHIS[1]\HIJACKTHIS.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT OFFICE\OFFICE\WINWORD.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\MSAGENT\AGENTSVR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.lycos.co.uk/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer provided by Freeserve
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = http=http://www-cache.freeserve.com:8080;ftp=http://www-cache.freeserve.com:8080
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Connection Wizard,Shellnext = http://www.freeserve.com/
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [B'sCLiP] C:\PROGRA~1\B'SCLI~1\BSCLIP.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RealTray] C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\RealPlay.exe SYSTEMBOOTHIDEPLAYER
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MicroDialler] C:\Freeserve\FreeserveConnectionKit\atdialler1.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [pccguide.exe] "C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2002\pccguide.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PCCIOMON.exe] "C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2002\PCCIOMON.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PCCClient.exe] "C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2002\PCCClient.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Pop3trap.exe] "C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2002\Pop3trap.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Machine Debug Manager] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MDM.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [PCCIOMON.exe] "C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2002\PCCIOMON.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [PCCPFW] C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2002\PCCPFW.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Taskbar Display Controls] RunDLL deskcp16.dll,QUICKRES_RUNDLLENTRY
    O4 - Startup: WinZip Quick Pick.lnk = C:\Program Files\WinZip\WZQKPICK.EXE
    O4 - User Startup: WinZip Quick Pick.lnk = C:\Program Files\WinZip\WZQKPICK.EXE
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O15 - Trusted Zone: http://groups.msn.com
    O15 - Trusted Zone: http://www.flipside.com
    O15 - Trusted Zone: http://*.uproar.co.uk
    O16 - DPF: {15589FA1-C456-11CE-BF01-00AA0055595A} - https://www.freeserve.com/time/anytimereg_dialer/dialer/dialers/sd0101_4.exe
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/swdir.cab
    O16 - DPF: {2B323CD9-50E3-11D3-9466-00A0C9700498} (Yahoo! Audio Conferencing) - http://us.chat1.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/i/chat/applet/v45/yacscom.cab
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Chat - http://us.chat1.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/i/chat/applet/c381/chat.cab
    O16 - DPF: {F04A8AE2-A59D-11D2-8792-00C04F8EF29D} (Hotmail Attachments Control) - http://lw9fd.law9.hotmail.msn.com/activex/HMAtchmt.ocx
    O16 - DPF: ChatSpace Full Java Client 3.1.0.235 - http://chat-a4.freeserve.com/Java/cfs31235.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37885.1384490741
    O16 - DPF: {4E888414-DB8F-11D1-9CD9-00C04F98436A} - https://webresponse.one.microsoft.com/oas/ActiveX/winrep.cab
    O16 - DPF: {AE1C01E3-0283-11D3-9B3F-00C04F8EF466} - http://fdl.msn.com/zone/datafiles/heartbeat.cab
     
  6. e-liam

    e-liam

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,242
    Hi Sandra,

    Could you please run a new HJT! log, check to fix the following, close all browser windows, then click the Fix checked button...

    O15 - Trusted Zone: http://groups.msn.com

    O15 - Trusted Zone: http://www.flipside.com

    O15 - Trusted Zone: http://*.uproar.co.uk


    Then could you reboot and download Spybot - Search & Destroy, from www.tomcoyote.org/spybot : if you haven't already got the program.

    Now press Settings, and Settings again. Go to the Webupdate section, and check "Display also available beta versions".

    Now press Online, and search for, put a check mark at, and install all updates.

    Next, close all Internet Explorer windows, hit 'Check for Problems', and have SpyBot remove all it finds marked RED.

    Then reboot again and post a new log afterwards. It's not much, but those two game sites in your trusted zone look suspicious. It's rare for anyone to actually use that facility in the first place, so I'm assuming that you did not place those there yourself.

    In anycase, the uproar link doesn't work under that URL. (y) :)

    I tend to steer well clear of any sites that offer online casino games. :)

    If you want similar games to those on those links, there are plenty of good sites around.

    Cheers

    Liam
     
  7. singe57

    singe57 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Hi Liam,

    I did put those three in my trust site. I have now deleted them. Do you need me still run Hijack on them?

    Thanks Sandra
     
  8. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,187
    First Name:
    Derek
    your problems are being caused by a proxy clash with freeserve's inline proxy
    run hijackthis, tick all below, doublecheck to make sure you haven't missed any, close all browser windows & press fix checked

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = http=http://www-cache.freeserve.com:8080;ftp=http://www-cache.freeserve.com:8080

    then open IE /tools/options/connections/click on your freeserve connection, then settings, then untick use a proxy server, what is happening is that chats & java use a different protocol to http and the freeserve connection wizard as usual has put in aport number but no protocol so it hangs
     
  9. singe57

    singe57 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Hi Liam,

    I downloaded the Spybot and scanned the system, but I am afraid I clicked the button "solve the problem". There was quite a lot of red items. Does it delete items in the computer?, have I done more harm?

    Regards Sandra
     
  10. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,187
    First Name:
    Derek
    spybot only deletes bad items and anything in red is bad and needs to go
    Spybot NEVER removes anything from your computer that is needed or wanted, so don't worry, you have done the right thing by pressing solve problem
     
  11. singe57

    singe57 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Hi Dvk01,

    Please could you explain more simplier to me what to do. You mentioned running hijackthis then
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = http=http://www-cache.freeserve.com:8080;ftp=http://www-cache.freeserve.com:8080. I not quite what to do?

    Regards Sandra
     
  12. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,187
    First Name:
    Derek
    first close all browser windows
    run hijack this

    do a scan

    when the scan is finished tick that entry and press fix checked

    then start your browser (IE) and see if you can connect to chat
     
  13. singe57

    singe57 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Hi Derek,

    I tried to connect to chat and I got:
    Finished, code: 1
    Could not connect to server [forums.techquy.org:8080].

    Help!!

    Regards Sandra
     
  14. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,187
    First Name:
    Derek
    It looks like your pccillin firewall is blocking all java chats then

    you need to open pcccillin, find the options and allow the connection, I don't use that firewall but there must be instructions in the helpfile
     
  15. singe57

    singe57 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Hi Derek

    I have clicked off the pccillin, I exit right from the start, I do not have the scan running. My firewall is never on. Is there no other suggestion how I can get my system to work properly.

    Regards Sandra
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/167284

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice