1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Valid IP address?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by JKM1247, Feb 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JKM1247

    JKM1247 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Does the classless IP address below work? WHY?

    192.168.1.144/28
    192.168.1.159 gateway
     
  2. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Download a subnet calculator and figure it out. There are many free ones on the internet. I like to use the one from Solarwinds.
     
  3. Monstrous Mi

    Monstrous Mi

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    623
    NO, 192.168.1.159 is the broadcast address.

    192.168.1.144/28 will produce a subnet with the address range 192.168.1.144 to 192.168.1.158. The gateway must be one of those addresses. The subnet mask for this is 255.255.255.240. This is a Class C network.
     
  4. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Wouldn't it be 192.168.1.145 to 192.168.1.158.

    192.168.1.144 would be the network address. (16-2=14)
     
  5. Monstrous Mi

    Monstrous Mi

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    623
    Yes indeedy.
     
  6. JKM1247

    JKM1247 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    So it doesn't work because the gateway 192.168.1.159 is out of the range of the subnet? Where do you get the 16-2=14? Thanks in advance for your patience I new to all this.
     
  7. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    You need to take a class on network structures and learn about subnetting. You always have to subtract two from the number of IP address in a subnet because the first one is the Network address and the last one is the broadcast address. You probably could have figured that out from what Monstrous and I were saying. So you only have 14 useable IP addresses in that subnet.

    Here is a really good link to learn about subnetting. I highly recommend you go thru all the tutorials.
    http://www.learntosubnet.com/
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/330442

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice