1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Various problems with PPPOE internet connection and D-Link Wireless N Router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by sirensofsilence, Nov 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sirensofsilence

    sirensofsilence Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    48
    Hi guys

    I've just bought a D-Link Wireless Router and USB network card and, after loads of messing around, I've managed to connect to the Internet, but now it's really quite slow. I moved the USB card to another port which has increased the speed, but it's still not at the levels it should be (although Windows says I'm getting between 15 and 60 Mbps.

    I tried altering so many setting just to get the Internet connected that it's quite possible I have changed something I shouldn't have. Or could it just be the speed of the USB, and if so, how can I improve this?

    What kind of information do I need to provide to get some help on this?

    Thanks in advance.

    SOS.
     
  2. rick62

    rick62

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    dear to the speed of non-performing limited please explain the details what happened exactly
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

    Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
    Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
    Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
    Make and exact model and hardware version of any other network equipment, like a repeater, a booster, hi-gain antenna, etc.
    Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
    Connection type, wired or wireless.
    If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
    Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP (Home or Pro), SP1-SP2-SP3, Vista (Home, Business, Ultimate), etc.
    The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.




    Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.



    • If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?
    • For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?
    • For wireless laptops, have you made SURE the wireless switch is on?
    • For wired connection issues, have you booted in Safe Mode with Networking to see if that changes the symptoms?
    • Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
    • If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?




    On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    Type the following commands on separate lines, following each one with the Enter key:

    PING 74.125.45.100

    PING yahoo.com

    NBTSTAT -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  4. sirensofsilence

    sirensofsilence Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    48
    ISP: Netvigator (Hong Kong)
    Broadband Modem: Absolutely unknown. It's just got Netvigator on it and no other distinguishing features. It was working fine with cables, though.
    Router: D-Link DIR-605 h/w ver: B1 f/w ver: 2.00TW
    Other: D-Link DWA-130 Wireless N USB Adapter h/w ver: C2 f/w ver: 3.00
    Wireless connection
    Using WPA/WPA2-Personal
    Win XP SP3
    Using Firefox 3.5.5, but also have IE8

    I have used a cable connection to the router, then into the modem and I get normal (high) speeds with that.
    I'm not aware of any other encryption on the router.
    Direct connection to the broadband modem is also fine.

    Today, the connection seems better, but not normal. The only messages I've had have been during start-up when it says "CPU Over Temperature - Press F1 to Continue". This message had never appeared before I installed the router.
    Looking at the Command Prompt stuff I can see it still has the name of the old network (Super_Virus), which I thought I had deleted.
    I have installed and re-installed the router and configured it so many times I don't really know what state it's in.

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Simon>PING 74.125.45.100

    Pinging 74.125.45.100 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=227ms TTL=51
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=230ms TTL=51
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=228ms TTL=51
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=229ms TTL=51

    Ping statistics for 74.125.45.100:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 227ms, Maximum = 230ms, Average = 228ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Simon>PING yahoo.com

    Pinging yahoo.com [209.191.93.53] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 209.191.93.53: bytes=32 time=221ms TTL=56
    Reply from 209.191.93.53: bytes=32 time=216ms TTL=56
    Reply from 209.191.93.53: bytes=32 time=221ms TTL=56
    Reply from 209.191.93.53: bytes=32 time=216ms TTL=56

    Ping statistics for 209.191.93.53:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 216ms, Maximum = 221ms, Average = 218ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Simon>NBTSTAT -n

    Local Area Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

    No names in cache

    Wireless Network Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.0.102] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    HAL9000 <00> UNIQUE Registered
    HAL9000 <20> UNIQUE Registered
    SUPER_VIRUS <00> GROUP Registered
    SUPER_VIRUS <1E> GROUP Registered
    SUPER_VIRUS <1D> UNIQUE Registered
    ..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered

    C:\Documents and Settings\Simon>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : HAL9000
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon Gigabit Ethernet 10/10
    0/1000Base-T Adapter, Copper RJ-45
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-2F-08-11-3D

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : D-Link DWA-130 Wireless N USB Adapte
    r(rev.C2)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-5A-16-9A-24
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.102
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 13 November 2009 19:18:27
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 20 November 2009 19:18:27

    C:\Documents and Settings\Simon>
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Let's see the IPCONFIG /ALL with a wired connection to the router.

    Have you changed the wireless channel of the router to see if this is wireless interference? You can use Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector to scan the area and see where interfering channels might be.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/876881

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice