1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Vba, word, movedown doesn't work

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by balloon_tom, Jan 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. balloon_tom

balloon_tom Thread Starter

This is my first attempt at using macros with Word (2003). I can macro my way through Excel pretty well, but Word is a different story. It's sloppy, but plesae bear with me. (Any suggested improvements are welcome).

This Word project is opened by Excel and variables are passed to it through the PrintTable macro. I have created a Sub Test() macro which populates all the variables and runs the project without the need for the Excel.

The project begins by searching for 4 sentences/paragraphs, and then deleting them if they exist. Sub Delet() sets the first phrase to search for (Strt) and the last (Stp). Sub DelText() searches the document and accomplishes the deletion.

3 of the 4 work perfectly, but the deletion starting with the word "WAIVER:" does not. It worked yesterday, but not today.
    The sub finds the Strt phrase and then moves up seaching for the first non blank line. So far, so good. It then does a MoveDown with Extend seaching for the Stp phrase. With the 3 working deletions, this MoveDown works, but with WAIVER, the move is not done.

Can you see what I'm missing?
    Thanks,
    Tom

Attached Files:

2. Rollin_Again

Rollin_Again

Can you please explain exactly what you are trying to do? My first impression is that you are trying to use this Word doc as a template that will be filled with data rows from an external source? Please provide a detailed explanation of your entire process and I am sure I can provide you with a more efficient and easier way of doing this. I am very proficient with writing macros for all Office applications.