1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved VBE dialog prompt when Excel file is closing (Excel 2010 32-bit)

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Keebellah, Sep 2, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Keebellah

    Keebellah Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,492
    First Name:
    Hans
    Hi guys,

    Since a day or two I’m having the following issue when I close an excel file (extension xlam).

    I write my own addin files and have been using them for many, many years.

    I’ve read that this seems to be a bug with Excel 2010 but the strange thing is why now and not before?

    The addin is not installed, I run it when I need it, it contains the necessary xlm code with custom ribbons and all the necessary buttons, you name it, it just works as it should.

    I have one button that either close the addin or quits Excel altogether

    The VBA project’s properties are set to non-visible and password protected.

    Now I get the dialog prompt to enter the VBE password. If I enter the password or press cancel, all I get is that Excel has encountered a problem and will shutdown.

    OS: Windows 10 64-bit, Office 2010 and everything has been running fine with Windows 01 and before that with Windows 7

    VBA Editor window is not maximized (as I read on several posts), and when I remove the password and save it and then reopen the vbe editor does not show up anymore when closing.

    If I run the same macro directly, not using the menu button, the same thing happens. It seems like it’s trying to access the VBA properties, but I have not added any code to do that.

    Very strange and especially I do not like thing I do not understand, no changes made and I do not address the VBE components in any way.

    Any ideas?
    P.S. I cannot upload the file but the thing is that it just started, all at once.
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    54,485
    First Name:
    Derek
  4. Keebellah

    Keebellah Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,492
    First Name:
    Hans
    I do think it's something in that direction. I read the bulletin and tried some things out but to no avail. Nothing really changed.
    The strange thing is that it only happens with one file I modified. I have several files with similar 'constructions' that do not have this problem.
    I'm going back to my previous version and will rewrite the potions of code I changed and see when ik starts again, maybe I'll find something.
    For now, I think I'm going to take a course in 'how to read and interpret Microsoft Security bulletins' :) that's quite a speacial kind of language, especially the parts 'between the lines'
    Thanks for pointing me in this direction, but as of yet, no solution.
    I'll update regularly.
     
  5. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    54,485
    First Name:
    Derek
    I "think" it will be an update that was automatically applied in W10. The problem is we have almost no way of knowing what was updated and what effect it had.
    Many of us are continually complaining to Microsoft about lack of details in W10 update bulletins, where they just don't give any meaningful details to allow tracking down of problems like this

    Do you have a W7 or W8 computer that you can see if the problem exists on
     
  6. Keebellah

    Keebellah Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,492
    First Name:
    Hans
    I did some more testing and it seems that it's only happening on my own desktop. I tried it on another PC with Windows 7 and Office 2010 and no problems there, also an ASUS Transformer with Windows 10 and Office 2013 and it seems to work fine there too.
    I'm seriously thinking it's a corrupt Office installation, but not sure yet.
    Am going to run an Office repair to see what happens.
     
  7. Keebellah

    Keebellah Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,492
    First Name:
    Hans
    Like I mentioned, I tested it on a older Windows 7 system and an ASUS Transformer with Windows 10 and Office 2013 and no problems there.
    It's specific Windows 10 the Desktop and Office 2010. :(
    Typical MicroSoft
     
  8. Keebellah

    Keebellah Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,492
    First Name:
    Hans
    I added a self signed certificate and it seems to have 'solved' the issue.
    At least the password prompt has not appeared (yet :))
     
  9. Keebellah

    Keebellah Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,492
    First Name:
    Hans
    Ran all the possible tests, made changes and no more issues with the VBA password prompt.
    Looks like the self signed certificate did it's work. Probably an extra security feature that W10 has built in.
    It's god to know that Microsoft updates all the Office users in such a wonderful way :)sarcastic)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1155104

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice