1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

vcd encoding problem in nero

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by beth lee, Jul 24, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. beth lee

    beth lee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Hi
    I have a Winamp media file (video) that i am trying to put onto a VCD disc (don't have a dvd burner as yet). The file plays perfectly (50+ mins) in Winamp. When I try to make a VCD disc from it with Nero Express I get a problem. The programme tells me that the file will require encoding for VCD- it starts to do this but then about 3/4 of the way through it stops and shuts down the programme completely. This is the only file I have had any problems with.
    Any ideas?
    Many thanks in advance
    Beth
     
  2. MysticEyes

    MysticEyes Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,825
    If it's one file it might be corrupted, just because it plays doesn't mean it's not.

    You didn't mention the type of file.
     
  3. beth lee

    beth lee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Thank you for your reply. The file is an MPG. Hope this helps
    Beth
     
  4. MysticEyes

    MysticEyes Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,825
  5. beth lee

    beth lee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks for your reply. I downloaded the application and tried to to fix the file as you suggested. It asks me if I want to overwrite the original file- if I select yes, it creates a file with no content, if I select no it comes back that it is unable to create output file.
    I tried the video to cd tab but it comes back with the error Invalid MPEG pack size.
    Hope this helps
    Many thanks
    Beth
     
  6. MysticEyes

    MysticEyes Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,825
    It pops quickly, but after you choose the file a 'Save in' box pops up, give it a new name like 'file_new', then it won't ask to rewrite.
     
  7. beth lee

    beth lee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Great! That has sorted it! Thank you so much for your help
    Thanks
    Beth
     
  8. MysticEyes

    MysticEyes Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,825
    Cool... [​IMG]
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/486002

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice