VCR to HDD?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

pons

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Messages
354
Hi, a friend of mine wants to "record" video from his VCR or video camera to the HDD.
He is runing winXP professional, and the video card is a GeForce4 MX 440 128MB.
He tried to use Windows Movie Maker but it tells him that there is not a device attached.
He is using a cable with a RCA conector at one end and a 4 pin (similar to the one for a mouse) male conector. He has conected his video camera to the grafics card using this cable that came with his card.
Is there a chance to do it, and how? Does he need special software to convert analog to digital, ot is it all handled by WMM?

Thank you in advance
sebastian pons
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2001
Messages
447
he would be better off with software specifically designed for video capture and editing. the best way to connect to his pc is via a firewire connection-anything else is just too slow. if there isn't one installed (possibly on the sound card if it is a sound blaster audigy series) he can get an expansion card .

Gavi, Certified Photographic Counselor, Nikon Advanced System Specialist
 

pons

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Messages
354
Hi, thank you for your input.
I don't think that firewire is an option, and his card is a Nvidia (lower end I assume). Speed is not a problem.
I don't know what hewants to do with it, it's eather to sent to his family throu the Internet, or saving it to CD. HDD capacity is also not a problem as it is a relatively new machine and I imagine his HDH is about 60GB.

Thank you again
sebastian pons
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
I have a GF4 MX460 graphics card and it works just fine for capturing video.

You need to check that the card actually supports Video In, as many of that model only do Video Out (also called TV Out). If they do Video out its usually referred to as Vi/Vo (Video In Video Out) and the plug and cable you desribe has the SVHS plug on one end, and 2 x RCA and 2 X SVHS on the other.

The sound is captured using the Line in on the soundcard.
 

pons

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Messages
354
Thank you Kiwiguy, now for the setup, can you describe step by step how to do it?

sebastian pons
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
8,812
He is using a cable with a RCA conector at one end and a 4 pin
He's trying to use the s-video output. I don't believe he has video in. He needs a capture card.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
Sounds a lot like it.
If it has Video in, the manual should show how to connect.
The software that comes with the card would have the video capture function.

There is no easy way to determine from looking at the card if it has video capture or not. You need to do a search on Google using the exact make and model.
 

pons

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Messages
354
Thank you for your help. I'll pass the information to my friend

sebastian pons
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top