1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

VCR's

Discussion in 'Random Discussion' started by ezy, Dec 12, 2001.

Advertisement
  1. ezy

    ezy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    237
    Hello again,
    I'm not even sure if I'm allowed to ask this question but here goes and if I'm not please let me know.
    I have a 'cheapie' VCR; the brand name is Symphonic, made by Funai. Believe it's two head. (That's about the extent of my knowledge of VCR's).
    What has happened is when I am recording I get No sound. I called Funai and the girl said to use a cleaner tape (I did), put a new tape in (I did) but it doesn't work any better. When I taped the other evening I got the picture but that time there was sound and the 'talking' was from a different program that I had taped the day before and this evening I was going to tape over it but that isn't right; I mean the sound from the day before. Do you suppose I pressed something I shouldn't have on the remote. The VCR is 3 yrs. old. Any help will be appreciated.

    Ezy
     
  2. GoneForNow

    GoneForNow

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    12,427
    I suspect that it's one of two things. Either the heads are dirty or misaligned. Buy a VCR head cleaning kit and try that. If that doesn't clear up the problem then you're probably better off buying a new VCR. The cost to repair the old one wouldn't make it worth it.
     
  3. JewisHeritage

    JewisHeritage

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2001
    Messages:
    2,469
    Crumb....
    Are you talking about Mulder again?..... :D
     
  4. Dark Star

    Dark Star

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,054
    Try a brand new VHS tape

    Try recording a lower band channel like 2-13 if that works try recording an upper band channel if that fails replace the VCR.

    DS
     
  5. ezy

    ezy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    237
    Thanks for your reply, Dark Star. Done both of your suggestions.
    ezy
     
  6. ezy

    ezy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    237
    Thanks to all who answered my question about VCR's. Guess it would cost more to have it fixed than to buy a new one.

    ecy
     
  7. ezy

    ezy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    237
    Thanks to all who answered my question about VCR's. Guess it would cost more to have it fixed than to buy a new one.

    ezy
     
  8. JewisHeritage

    JewisHeritage

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2001
    Messages:
    2,469
    ezy...Sorry that you need to purchase a new VCR:(

    CRUMB & DARK DUCK....See... I knew my post here would help ezy make the correct decision....what was all that nonsense you guys posted here anyways????:confused:
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/61562

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice