VCR's

ezy

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2001
Messages
237
Hello again,
I'm not even sure if I'm allowed to ask this question but here goes and if I'm not please let me know.
I have a 'cheapie' VCR; the brand name is Symphonic, made by Funai. Believe it's two head. (That's about the extent of my knowledge of VCR's).
What has happened is when I am recording I get No sound. I called Funai and the girl said to use a cleaner tape (I did), put a new tape in (I did) but it doesn't work any better. When I taped the other evening I got the picture but that time there was sound and the 'talking' was from a different program that I had taped the day before and this evening I was going to tape over it but that isn't right; I mean the sound from the day before. Do you suppose I pressed something I shouldn't have on the remote. The VCR is 3 yrs. old. Any help will be appreciated.

Ezy
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2001
Messages
12,427
I suspect that it's one of two things. Either the heads are dirty or misaligned. Buy a VCR head cleaning kit and try that. If that doesn't clear up the problem then you're probably better off buying a new VCR. The cost to repair the old one wouldn't make it worth it.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2001
Messages
3,054
Try a brand new VHS tape

Try recording a lower band channel like 2-13 if that works try recording an upper band channel if that fails replace the VCR.

DS
 

ezy

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2001
Messages
237
Thanks for your reply, Dark Star. Done both of your suggestions.
ezy
 

ezy

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2001
Messages
237
Thanks to all who answered my question about VCR's. Guess it would cost more to have it fixed than to buy a new one.

ecy
 

ezy

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2001
Messages
237
Thanks to all who answered my question about VCR's. Guess it would cost more to have it fixed than to buy a new one.

ezy
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2001
Messages
2,469
ezy...Sorry that you need to purchase a new VCR:(

CRUMB & DARK DUCK....See... I knew my post here would help ezy make the correct decision....what was all that nonsense you guys posted here anyways????:confused:
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top