1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

VDSL Question

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Giant Octopus, Apr 4, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. Giant Octopus

Giant Octopus Thread Starter

I have been using AOL (Canada) for almost 20 years. They are going to end service on April 30th. I was inquiring about an Internet company called Start.Ca. They offer VDSL. Is there a big difference between VDSL and DSL? Would they have to send someone over to install a VDSL line or just send VDSL through the DSL line remotely? Could I still use my DSL modem or would I have to get a VDSL modem?

2. 2twenty2

2twenty2

3. SpywareDr

SpywareDr

4. Couriant

Couriant Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    James
    You would need a new modem because the service is different, plus most likely the service will need to send a technician to install the fiber optic lines, if they haven't done so already.

5. Giant Octopus

I wanted to ask something. I currently use a landline phone. I have my phone cord plugged into a DSL filter and then the filter is plugged into the phone jack. This is so it wont interfere with my DSL running into my modem which is hooked up to a separate phone jack. When I switch over to VDSL would the DSL filter still work with my landline phone or will I need a VDSL filter for my phone?

This is how my DSL filter looks.
    [​IMG]

6. SpywareDr

SpywareDr

That filter is for an old-style, analog, POTS (plain-old telephone service) telephone.

Your new setup would be a digital telephone that uses VoIP (Voice over Internet Protocol).

7. Giant Octopus

^ Would that interfere with my landline phone? I don't own a smart phone.

8. SpywareDr

SpywareDr

9. Giant Octopus

Oh man. I just have a regular phone. If VDSL is my only option I guess I have to go back to dial-up.

10. SpywareDr

SpywareDr