1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Vertical line crash

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by scninjakc, Jan 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. scninjakc

scninjakc Thread Starter

I have been playing wow for a few months and am now having a pretty serious issue. A few days ago i hopped on to play and the computer randomly shut itself off. That problem repeated itself every time i would play it along with blue screens. I reformatted my computer afterwards and it is running much faster with no crashes or blue screens anywhere else. But now when i try to play WoW i get a weird crash that involves my screen being covered in multi-colored vertical lines and an extremely horrid sound. This forces me to hard reboot. If i reboot too soon after the crash my system start up and all the text is a green color and the system fails to start. Any help?

2. jack-o-bytes

jack-o-bytes

Hey there, That sounds a lot like the graphics card is starting to fail. Do you know anyone that you could borrow a graphics card off to put into your computer to test that out?

Jack-O-Bytes

3. scninjakc

scninjakc Thread Starter

Unfortunately it's a laptop and I've tested it with a stress test and it did the same thing. Deff the video card.. What can I do?... Buy a new laptop im thinkin... sucks because its pretty much brand new.

4. jack-o-bytes

jack-o-bytes

considering that it is pretty much brand new could it by any chance still be under warranty?

Jack-O-Bytes

5. scninjakc

scninjakc Thread Starter