1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Very bad virus not allowing to do stuff

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by mitk0o0o0, Jan 7, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mitk0o0o0

    mitk0o0o0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Hello, my friend bought a Dell Optiplex GX270 computer off a gypsy and it had Windows XP installed on it.

    Errors are constantly showing up for various things in a 10 minutes range.

    Not only that, but if you try to enter an antivirus software's name on any browser it would just close it immediatelly.
    For example, as soon as I type in avast and press Enter for results, it would close, same for AVG, ESET, MalwareBytes, etc.

    There are constantly new folders being created in new directories. It only creates one folder which is called "New Folder" and that is a shortcut that takes you to the directory from which you see it.

    Another problem is msconfig closes in the second it is opened. The task manager cannot be accessed aswell, once you hit CTRL + ALT + DEL an error pops up saying that it is disabled by the administrator. We managed to solve that problem temporary by making a new account and eventually it got disabled there too.
    Regedit.exe also cannot be opened, once typed in the run window, an error window appears and disappears in half a second, can't even read what exactly it says.

    This is very weird, before when we were able to open up the Task Manager temporary, there were processes running with names such as mkfodfsdjfdfsok.exe, xcvcvxcfd.exe, etc. Even when we kill them, in about a minute new ones come up.

    I have a feeling those things are causing the system to do all these stuff but we can't think of any ways to get rid of them, we can't even run software such as HijackThis to take logs because even by just typing in the name in the browser, it closes it immediatelly.

    We thought the workaround for that would be to startup the installation program from a CD but once we click to install it would just abort.

    Is there any solution to this without having to format the system drive and having to do a fresh install of Windows XP?
     
  2. SUEOHIO

    SUEOHIO

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,754
    First Name:
    SUE
    When you buy a used computer from anywhere and theres stuff on it from the previous owner its always a good idea to start fresh and do a complete reinstall to get rid of whatever was in there.i would also go to the dell website and find and download all of the correct drivers for that desktop so when you do the reinstall you wont have to go hunting around for the drivers.then burn all of the drivers to a cd so you will have them for future reference.
     
  3. premierguy

    premierguy

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Hi,

    I would advise that if you have the original OS disc that cam with the computer, to format the hard drive and reinstall the OS again. A clean slate.

    Failing that if you can boot into safe mode it would depend on the maker of the computer but try F8,F2 a couple of seconds after you turn on the computer.

    You will get options to go into safe mode and if their is antivirus installed you could run a complete system scan.Hopefully that could pick up any virus left.

    Good luck and let us know how your getting on.

    Regards

    Eamonn
     
  4. mitk0o0o0

    mitk0o0o0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Yes, we could try that but it could be too much of a hassle, I'm kinda afraid the installation process might stop somewhere leaving him without any OS at all. I've had this happen to me 2 times for unknown reasons and I'm afraid to do installations now so that's why we are looking for a solution that doesn't involve formatting.

    I forgot to mention that in the OP but yes we tried Safe Mode and what happens is that when we choose either Safe Mode with Networking or just Safe Mode, the computer reboots and starts up XP in normal mode. That could be cause of the virus too? :(
     
  5. mitk0o0o0

    mitk0o0o0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Ok so we made a clean install.

    Inserted CD into CD-ROM.
    Booted up Windows installation without a problem.
    Formatted the system partition (C:\) using quick and we choose the NTFS.
    Installation completed without any errors showing up anywhere.

    Our first test after the clean install was to open up Google, type in "avast" and guess what, it still closes the browser! :O What the hell is it's problem? Is the hard drive infected? msconfig was still unable to be opened but atleast the Task Manager works now.

    And again there are these files named "jfdskfsdfjsdfs.exe"

    Any other ideas?
     
  6. kevinf80

    kevinf80 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    11,383
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Run the MGA Diagnostic Tool and post back the report it creates:

    • Download MGADiag to your desktop.
    • Double-click on MGADiag.exe to launch the program
    • Click "Continue"
    • Ensure that the "Windows" tab is selected (it should be by default).
    • Click the "Copy" button to copy the MGA Diagnostic Report to the Windows clipboard.
    • Paste the MGA Diagnostic Report back here in your next reply.

    Next,

    Download and save DDS to your Desktop from either of the following links:

    http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/sUBs/dds.scr
    http://compendiate.net/sUBs/dds/dds.scr

    Note: You must use Internet Explorer to download dds.scr, other browsers will open the file in the browser and not save it. Or if you must use Firefox, or Chrome, then right click the link and select "save link as" and save the file to your desktop.

    Double-click the dds.scr file to run the program.

    It will automatically run in silent mode and then you will see the following note:

    "Two logs shall be created on your Desktop"

    The logs will be named dds.txt and attach.txt".

    Wait until the logs appear and then copy and paste their contents in your post.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1084128

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice