1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Very long loading time

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by poisonedx, Jan 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. poisonedx

    poisonedx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Right. So heres the thing. Recently i've upgraded the specs of my computer, including Processor, Graphics Card and RAM. As far as I can tell these are all working correctly. The problem i'm facing as current is the incredibly slow loading speed. It passes the "Dectecting IDE drives" screen quickly, but on the next screen it holds, for atleast an hour. On this screen it pretty much says:

    Diskette Drive A:1.44M, 3'5"
    Pri. Master Disk: LBA.ATA 100 82GB
    Pri. Slave Disk: CDROM,ATA 33

    And a load of other information like that, along with PCI Devices Listing...

    It holds on this screen for a very very long time. I've tried changing some of the Bios but with absolutely no change or effect. On the next screen when it does actualy move, it's the Windows 2000 loading screen(With the row of bars showing how much it's loaded), it holds here again for a long time, again atleast an hour. I'm not sure exactly how long as I went to sleep out of bordom of waiting for it. Has anyone got any suggestions or any idea at all whats the matter with this. The RAM,Graphics card, Processor and Motherboard were all bought brand new and suggested by the store owner that I went to, he said that everything will all be compatable with each other componant. So if anyone has any idea's what could be the problem i'd be very greatful, as i'm not quite prepared to spend £30 for someone to just look at my computer to tell me whats wrong.

    EDIT: Thanks bp936 for mentioning this. This is actualy a home built desktop. This is the information I know.Windows 2000 Professional, 80GB ExcelStor Harddrive, 256MB Sapphire Radeon X1650Pro Graphics card(PCI), Gigabyte technology LGA775 Motherboard, Intel Pentium 4 Processor 3.2Ghz, 1Gig DDR2 RAM. If theres any other information that you can suggest to supply then please mention :)
     
  2. bp936

    bp936

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    3,033
    sorry I can't really help, but I know the experts will want to know more information, like what brand computer, size of hard drive, how much memory, what procdessor speed, what graphics card, date of BIOS, etc
     
  3. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,769
    if you are using windows 2000, google for startupCPL; that is 2k's version of msconfig which will allow you to see what apps you have starting when teh computer starts up. You can disable anything that you don't want to start wtih the pc; for instance, on my machine, I only have the a.v. and the firewall starting automatically. Everything else I load when I want it to load.

    you could also clean out your temp files, dunno how often you do that. After you do the below, check the fragmentation status of your drive; remember, red is bad.


    Please download ATF Cleaner by Atribune.
    This program is for XP and Windows 2000 only

    • Double-click ATF-Cleaner.exe to run the program.
      Under Main choose: Select All
      Click the Empty Selected button.
    If you use Firefox browser
    • Click Firefox at the top and choose: Select All
      Click the Empty Selected button.
      NOTE: If you would like to keep your saved passwords, please click No at the prompt.
    If you use Opera browser
    • Click Opera at the top and choose: Select All
      Click the Empty Selected button.
      NOTE: If you would like to keep your saved passwords, please click No at the prompt.
    Click Exit on the Main menu to close the program.
    For Technical Support, double-click the e-mail address located at the bottom of each menu.
     
  4. poisonedx

    poisonedx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    This is the problem, I can't actualy get to that stage. It's stuck on the second screen you see once you've pressed the on button. The furthest i've seen is the windows 2000 bar loading screen.
     
  5. schusterjo

    schusterjo

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,182
    Then its having an issue with the new cpu most likely, have you tried putting the old cpu in to see if it still hangs?
     
  6. poisonedx

    poisonedx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6

    I've not tried that yet. But I shall try. What I can't understand though is that it moves through the Bios and the Boot menu very swiftly, like normal. It's just when it tries to load up fully is where it craps out. Also it's a brand new motherboard, so my old CPU hasn't been on the new one. But i shall try
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/535743

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice