1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Very old computer, want to buy a video card

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Exershio, Jul 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Exershio

    Exershio Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Okay, I'm using a very old computer right now. It's from like 2000. I've upgraded the amount of RAM recently and now I want to throw in a video card so it doesn't use onboard graphics. However, I'm not sure if my crappy 175watt (at least I think that's what it is) power supply will be able to handle it.

    Here's my computer specs:

    Computer Model: Compaq Evo D510 SFF
    Amount of RAM: 768MB PC2100 DDR
    Processor: Intel p4 2.0ghz
    Hard drive: Maxtor 40gb 5200 RPM
    Floppy disk drive: no idea the manufacturer, but there is one
    PCI Slots: 2 empty ones
    AGP 4x slot: Empty
    2 Fans (one on the power supply and one in the front of the case)

    Is there any video card I can get that this old computer can handle? I'm wanting at least 128mb of video ram, but if that's too much for it than I'm out of luck. I can't afford a new power supply or a new computer.
     
  2. emoric

    emoric

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    353
    Find a card that will fit those slots. :)
     
  3. Exershio

    Exershio Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    I know, but I don't know what card will be able to handle a 175watt power supply. Don't they usually take up a lot of power?
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    May I ask why you need 128?

    If a 64 would do, that would probably be better for that system............
     
  5. Exershio

    Exershio Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Well, I want to be able to play World of Warcraft and Final Fantasy XI.

    Would 64 be enough for that?
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Check the requirements for the game...........I'm not sure how cpu intensive it is......if very, you could overheat the system.
     
  7. mclarenvj

    mclarenvj

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    652
  8. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    You just can't plomp a new power supply into some older Compaq machines ;)
     
  9. mclarenvj

    mclarenvj

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    652
  10. mclarenvj

    mclarenvj

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    652
  11. Exershio

    Exershio Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    The system requirements for WoW:
    Windows® System 2000/XP OS:

    * Intel Pentium® III 800 MHz or AMD Athlon 800 MHz
    * 512 MB or more of RAM
    * 32 MB 3D graphics card with Hardware Transform and Lighting, such as NVIDIA® GeForce™ 2 class card or above
    * DirectX® 9.0c (included) and latest video drivers
    * 6.0 GB available HD space
    * 4x CD-ROM drive
    * A 56k or better Internet connection

    Would that overheat my system?
     
  12. mclarenvj

    mclarenvj

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    652
    no, your system is decent after a decent GPU
    those are probs the minimum
     
  13. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    6.0 GB available HD space

    Since you have such a small hard drive, that would be a concern for me..........
     
  14. mclarenvj

    mclarenvj

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    652
    yeah thats true, and imagine how much more you will need for the updates....
     
  15. Exershio

    Exershio Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    I already have it installed, and I can run the game, but at minimum settings I get like 10fps. That's why I want to buy a graphic card, so it runs smoother.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/593323

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice