1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Very Slow Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by oliverclosov, Aug 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. oliverclosov

    oliverclosov Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Hello guys, I am very very frustrated!!! I bought a 250GB Maxtor 6L250R0 Diamond Max 10 (ATA/133) hard drive for my system but it is running very very slow…the uncached speed is running at 2MB/s and it should be closer to 26MB/s…I have done everything I can think of : I have defragged the drive, disabled background programs, made sure that write cache is enabled, the disk cluster size is 4kb, I bought a brand new 80 conductor cable, tried updating the driver for the disk but it is the newest driver, I uninstalled the IDE ATA Controllers and let windows re-install them on restart, I updated my bios to add LBA so that the full 250GB would be recognized and not just 137GB. I ran the PowerMax utility and the drive passed every single test (I did them all----it took a looong time) I am confused about the DMA though…..in Device Manager, the Transfer Mode is set to DMA is Available but the Current Transfer Mode is set to PIO Mode and it won’t let me change it to DMA ? In by Bios the drive shows PIO [4] and DMA [6] Why won’t is let me change it to DMA Mode in Device Manager???? The test showing my uncached speed is not false because with my old drive (Maxtor 80GB) I used to back-up a dvd in less then an hour, now with this drive it takes almost 2.5hrs.
    Here is some of my systems info that I copied from my Everest Report :
    I have searched the internet for hours and hours and I am going insane!
    Thank you for any help you can give me

    Computer:
    Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional
    OS Service Pack Service Pack 2
    Internet Explorer 6.0.2900.2180
    DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0)

    Motherboard:
    CPU Type AMD Athlon-PECM, 1200 MHz (9 x 133)
    Motherboard Name Asus A7A266 (5 PCI, 1 AGP Pro, 1 AMR, 5 DIMM)
    Motherboard Chipset ALi M1647 ALiMAGiK 1
    System Memory 512 MB (DDR SDRAM)
    BIOS Type Award Medallion (03/01/02)

    Processor Properties:
    Manufacturer AuthenticAMD
    Version AMD Athlon(TM) Processor
    External Clock 133 MHz
    Maximum Clock 1700 MHz
    Current Clock 1200 MHz
    Type Central Processor
    Voltage 1.8 V
    Status Enabled
    Socket Designation SOCKET A

    IDE Controller ALi M5229 PCI Bus Master IDE Controller

    BIOS Properties:
    Vendor Award Software, Inc.
    Version ASUS A7A266 ACPI BIOS Revision 1011
    Release Date 03/01/2002
    Size 256 KB
    Boot Devices Floppy Disk, Hard Disk, CD-ROM
    Capabilities Flash BIOS, Shadow BIOS, Selectable Boot, EDD
    Supported Standards DMI, APM, ACPI, ESCD, PnP
    Expansion Capabilities PCI, AGP, USB
    System BIOS Date 03/01/02
    Video BIOS Date 05/04/13
    Award BIOS Type Award Modular BIOS v6.0
    Award BIOS Message ASUS A7A266 ACPI BIOS Revision 1011
    DMI BIOS Version ASUS A7A266 ACPI BIOS Revision 1011
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,888
    First Name:
    Rob
  3. oliverclosov

    oliverclosov Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Triple6.....I'll give it a try as soon as I get home from work and I'll post my results for you when I'm done. I'm crossing my fingers that one of these fixes will work (y)
    Thanks
     
  4. oliverclosov

    oliverclosov Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Well, I tried EVERYthing I could and I couldn't get it to switch from PIO to DMA :(
    I just want to scream :mad:

    I did read an e-mail on the link that said a guys new Samsung 200GB drive was incompatible in some way with his Asus A7A266 motherboard and that he had to buy an additional IDE controller card in order to fix the same problem. I have the same motherboard....maybe I should look into a seperate IDE controller card?? I would be fine with that if it is going to fix the problem....but I don't want to waste $ if it isn't going to help. Right now....I'll try anything :confused:

    Thanks for all the help.......I let you know if the controller card worked.
    Thanks ;)
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,888
    First Name:
    Rob
    That would likely solve the problem.

    How is the drive connected to the system? Try connecting the drive all by itself on the secondary IDE channel. So temporarily disconnect any drives connected and see if it switches to DMA mode.
     
  6. oliverclosov

    oliverclosov Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    I'll try that.....will my system be able to boot off of the secondary controller? I'll try it anyway (y)
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,888
    First Name:
    Rob
    Maybe, the BIOS needs to be able to support booting from PCI cards.

    Is that your only hard drive?
     
  8. oliverclosov

    oliverclosov Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Yup, the drive is on the cable by itself
     
  9. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,888
    First Name:
    Rob
    And you deleted the registry keys mentioned in the article?
     
  10. oliverclosov

    oliverclosov Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    yes sir, I did.....still no good :(
     
  11. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,888
    First Name:
    Rob
  12. oliverclosov

    oliverclosov Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    thanks again buddy......I think I'm going to quit for today.....I too stressed out, so I'll print off your link and try it tomorrow.
    Have a great night triple6 and thanks for all of your help :) I greatly appreciate it
     
  13. oliverclosov

    oliverclosov Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Hey guys, just a quick update......I bought a usb 2.o to IDE cable and I am running my hard drive as a "mass storage device" through my usb port. It is working perfectly.....a lot faster. I was going to by a PCI card, but all the places were sold out, and then one of the guys suggested I try using it through the usb since I only wanted to use it for storage anyway. It was cheaper then a PCI card....only $30.
    So thanks for all of your help I still don't understand what the problem was? I tried every single thing that was mentioned and then some....:confused:
    but as long as I got it working now, I guess that is all that matters
    Thanks again (y)
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/489858

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice