Very strange IE problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Stos

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
34
First, I'd like to say that I think my computer is the root of all that is evil and bad, and second, the main problem is IE 6. I have Win 98 second edition, running on a Dell XPS B733 (P3 733), 256Mb RAM. The main problem that just started happening is occasionally (in a seemingly random pattern) when I click a link or type in an addy my computer resets itself.... not a shutdown and reboot thing, a flat out "I just pressed the reset button" kind of reset. Its very weird and starting to bug me. Also, every couple of minutes it'll stop responding to links or addys that I tell it to go to, it'll sit there with the silly little icon on the top right spinning for a minute, then finally go to the site and continue on like nothing happened.... I ran the repair on it last night to try and fix it, and it did nothing, and that was after I had to download the lastest version of scrrun.dll since it was complaining it was too old. I'm going to try reinstalling IE from scratch and see if that helps... anything you guys can think of that may help?

Thanks in advance.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2000
Messages
6,832
First I would make sure there isn’t a gob of spyware on the computer. Download AdAware and run it: http://www.lavasoftusa.com/support/download/ Make sure you select the option to back up your removals in case you remove something you need by accident.

A lot of people prefer SpyBot: http://security.kolla.de/ The AdAware is a new version and supposedly has the latest definitions to compete with SpyBot. AdAware is a little easier to use, but if you are comfortable with SpyBot run them both.
 

Stos

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
34
thanks for the links. I have Adaware 5.0, but I just downloaded 6.0 from the link, I'll go run that and see what it can find.
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
You might try this too so we can see what you have running:
Go to http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/ :

Download StartupList 1.51

After unzipping the file, run it. You will see a text file displayed. Copy/paste the file directly to a reply. To copy/paste, when the file is open, click Edit>Select All > Edit > Copy and then right click on a reply window here and select "paste".
 

Stos

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
34
This is what I got after deleting some spyware and crap.



Detected: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
* Using default options
==================================================

Running processes:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RPCSS.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT HARDWARE\KEYBOARD\SPEEDKEY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\ALCATEL\SPEEDTOUCH USB\DRAGDIAG.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\NAVAPW32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HIDSERV.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MOUSEWARE\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\POPROXY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\TRILLIAN\TRILLIAN.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

ScanRegistry = c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
Microsoft IntelliType Pro = "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Hardware\Keyboard\speedkey.exe"
SpeedTouch USB Diagnostics = "C:\Program Files\Alcatel\SpeedTouch USB\Dragdiag.exe" /icon
Norton Auto-Protect = C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVAPW32.EXE /LOADQUIET
HIDSERV = HIDSERV.EXE RUN
StillImageMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
EM_EXEC = C:\PROGRA~1\MOUSEW~1\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE
Norton eMail Protect = C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\POProxy.exe

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
(Created 11/2/2003, 17:2:42)

[Rename]

--------------------------------------------------

C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

SET PATH=C:\Perl\bin\;%PATH%;C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\ULEADS~1\MPEG

--------------------------------------------------


Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

(no name) - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}
Ipswitch.WsftpBrowserHelper - C:\PROGRAM FILES\WS_FTP PRO\WSBHO2K0.DLL - {601ED020-FB6C-11D3-87D8-0050DA59922B}

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

Tune-up Application Start.job
Scan for Viruses.job
Windows Critical Update Notification.job
TASK20020920170737.job
TASK20020924145341.job

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Download Program Files:

[Shockwave Flash Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

[CV3 Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WUV3IS.DLL
CODEBASE = http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/R1024/V31Controls/x86/w98/en/actsetup.cab

[OPUCatalog Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\OPUC.DLL
CODEBASE = http://office.microsoft.com/ProductUpdates/content/opuc.cab

[RdxIE Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\RDXIE.DLL
CODEBASE = http://207.188.7.150/08f52425f84bcf5a4222/netzip/RdxIE.cab

[Attenza System Profiler]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\SYSTEMPROFILER.DLL
CODEBASE = http://service.dell.com/dell/SystemProfiler.cab

[QuickTime Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTPLUGIN.OCX
CODEBASE = http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab

[{41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C}]
CODEBASE = http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...apple.com/qt505/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe

[Support.com Configuration Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\Program Files\Support.com\bin\tgctlcm.dll
CODEBASE = http://65.83.242.102/sdccommon/download/tgctlcm.cab

[Measurement Service Client]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\MSC.OCX
CODEBASE = http://ccon.madonion.com/global/msc.cab

[mhLabel Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\MHLBL.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.pcpitstop.com/mhLbl.cab

[PCPDiskHealth Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\DISKHEALTH.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB

[Microsoft Office Tools on the Web Control]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\OUTC.DLL
CODEBASE = http://dgl.microsoft.com/downloads/outc.cab

[Shockwave ActiveX Control]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\DIRECTOR\SWDIR.DLL
CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab

[CCMPGui Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\CCMP392.DLL
CODEBASE = http://64.124.45.181/chaincast/proxy/CCMP.cab

[IEAnimBehaviorFactory Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\msorun\MSORUN.DLL
CODEBASE = http://download.microsoft.com/download/vizact2000/Install/10/WIN98Me/EN-US/msorun.cab

[ContentAuditX Control]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\CONTEN~1.OCX
CODEBASE = http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/5805...ch.com/audit/includes/ContentAuditControl.cab

[{9DBAFCCF-592F-FFFF-FFFF-00608CEC297C}]
CODEBASE = http://download.weatherbug.com/minibug/tricklers/AWS/minibuginstaller.cab

[MSN Chat Control 4.2]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\MSNCHAT42.OCX
CODEBASE = http://fdl.msn.com/public/chat/msnchat42.cab

[SurroundVideoCtrl Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\MSSURVID.OCX
CODEBASE = http://www.expedia.com/daily/download/MSSurVid.cab

[ScorchPlugin Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\NPSIBELIUS.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.sibelius.com/download/software/win/ActiveXPlugin.cab

[FVLiteLoad Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\FVLITEX.DLL
CODEBASE = http://flipbrowser.com.sg/fvlite/fvliteY.cab

[InstallCtl Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\RSINSTALLER.DLL
CODEBASE = http://download.redswoosh.com/Installer/rsinstaller.cab

[GSDACtl Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\GSDA.DLL
CODEBASE = http://launch.gamespyarcade.com/software/launch/alaunch.cab

[MetaStreamCtl Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\PROGRAM FILES\VIEWPOINT\VIEWPOINT MEDIA PLAYER\AXMETASTREAM.DLL
CODEBASE = http://components.metastream.com/MTSInstallers/MetaStream3.cab

[Update Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37623.8639583333

[CentraDownloaderCtl Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\CENTRADOWNLOADER.DLL
CODEBASE = http://wiu.wyndham.com/main/Install_5p3_sp1/CentraDownloader.cab

--------------------------------------------------
End of report, 7,540 bytes
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
OK, try this, go to Start > Run and type in "msconfig" without the quotes, click ok, then click the startup tab.
Look for usb diagonostic and uncheck it. You'll lose the little icon by the time but see if that helps?
 

Stos

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
34
just tryed that.... didn't help... I did notice something else though. When it starts the problem, it appears that most other programs slow down too... Also, if I try to type in the address bar, it lags behind my typeing... me thinks windows is hosed. What do you guys think? Anything you know that could be wrong or you think I should just cut my losses and reformat?
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
When you posted the startup list, was the computer working ok or was it slow?
 

Stos

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
34
the overall speed of the computer seems normal... its just that minute or so window of time that nothing related to the windows OS will work... for instance, I turned on my computer but left it alone for a few minutes. When I came back, I double clicked IE 6 and it didn't come up, I checked the running programs (ctrl-alt-del) and it was listed. I then tryed to open my messenger program, which opened but didn't bring up my connection box. I then double clicked "My Computer" and it didn't come up either. Finally I checked the program list again and something wasn't responding, which I believe was IE, but I closed the program, IE came up as well as the "My Computer" window and my connection window.... Yes, I know, my computer is the root of all that is evil....
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top