1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Very weird problem.....

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by jageorge72, Jan 11, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jageorge72

    jageorge72 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Hello! I'm new here, so be gentle!:)

    This problem is killing me, and I have no clue what to do about it?
    First off, I'm on Windows ME, Pentium 3, 128 Meg of Ram, 1 GHz processor.

    My problem:
    I have Yahoo set to my homepage. I like to read the top news stories on the right hand side, and have been doing so for like a year. I click on the news link....say, "Wreckage of Peru plane found, No surviviors". Yahoo list about one paragraph, then a "more" link, to read the rest of the article. The "more" links will no longer work for me!!! I get a "Cannot Find Server/Page Cannot Be Dispalyed" error. This has been happening with every article for probably the past 2 weeks. Other people who share my ISP can open the just fine.......so, it's just me.

    I don't recall doing anything that would cause this? Since Christmas, I have installed drivers/software for a digital camera, but other than that.......nothing?!

    Any ideas????
     
  2. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi jageorge72

    If you post your startup list we may be able to spot something

    Please post your startup list by doing the following :-

    Please go here and download startuplist 1.5 :-

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/startuplist15.zip

    Download to any folder or your desktop
    Unzip the zipfile
    Double click the exe file
    go to Edit - select all - copy - and paste the results in a new post here


    steam
     
  3. jageorge72

    jageorge72 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    StartupList report, 1/11/2003, 12:55:08 PM
    StartupList version: 1.50
    Started from : C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONE-TOUCH MULTIMEDIA KEYBOARD\MMKEYBD.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONE-TOUCH MULTIMEDIA KEYBOARD\KEYBDMGR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONSCREEN DISPLAY\OSD.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONE-TOUCH MULTIMEDIA KEYBOARD\MMUSBKB2.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGCC32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ZONE LABS\ZONEALARM\ZONEALARM.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MUSICMATCH\MUSICMATCH JUKEBOX\MMJB.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MUSICMATCH\MUSICMATCH JUKEBOX\MMDIAG.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Common Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
    ZoneAlarm.lnk = C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zonealarm.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    PCHealth = C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\Support\PCHSchd.exe -s
    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    AVG_CC = C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    *StateMgr = C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
    Keyboard Manager = c:\Program Files\Netropa\One-touch Multimedia Keyboard\MMKeybd.exe
    TrueVector = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE -service
    StillImageMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Active Setup stub paths:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components
    (* = disabled by HKCU twin)

    [{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4395}] *
    StubPath = regsvr32.exe /s /n /i:U shell32.dll

    [>PerUser_MSN_Clean] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\msnmgsr1.exe

    [PerUser_LinkBar_URLs] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\sulfnbk.exe /L

    [{44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}] *
    StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}

    [{7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}] *
    StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}

    [{9EF0045A-CDD9-438e-95E6-02B9AFEC8E11}] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\updcrl.exe -e -u C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\verisignpub1.crl

    [{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ie4uinit.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Load/Run keys from C:\WINDOWS\WIN.INI:

    load=
    run=

    --------------------------------------------------

    Shell & screensaver key from C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI:

    Shell=Explorer.exe
    SCRNSAVE.EXE=
    drivers=mmsystem.dll power.drv

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking for EXPLORER.EXE instances:

    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.exe: PRESENT!

    C:\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\System\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\Command\Explorer.exe: not present

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 10/1/2003, 12:17:40)

    [Rename]
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\URLMON.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SET262.TMP
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSHTML.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SET271.TMP
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SHDOCVW.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SET274.TMP

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    SET windir=C:\WINDOWS
    SET winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS
    SET COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
    SET PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND
    SET PROMPT=$p$g
    SET TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
    SET TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
    SET ARRIS=C:\PROGRA~1\ARRIS2~1

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\DOSSTART.BAT listing:

    @echo off
    REM
    REM
    mscdex.exe /d:IDECD000 /L:M

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking for superhidden extensions:

    .lnk: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .pif: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .exe: not hidden
    .com: not hidden
    .bat: not hidden
    .hta: not hidden
    .scr: not hidden
    .shs: HIDDEN!
    .shb: HIDDEN!
    .vbs: not hidden
    .vbe: not hidden
    .wsh: not hidden
    .scf: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: NO!)
    .url: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .js: not hidden
    .jse: not hidden

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\SBCIE026.DLL - {08351226-6472-43BD-8A40-D9221FF1C4CE}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    SBRegReminder.job
    Tune-up Application Start.job
    PCHealth Scheduler for Data Collection.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\SWFLASH.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    [sys Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PCPITSTOP.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB

    [AV Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PAV.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.pcpitstop.com/antivirus/PCPAV.CAB

    [{41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C}]
    CODEBASE = http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...le.com/samantha/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe

    [Live365Player Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PLAY365.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.live365.com/players/play365.cab

    [SideStep IE Inst]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\SBCIE026.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://download.sidestep.com/get/k00719/sb026.cab

    [Update Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37589.7828356481

    [PWMediaSendControl Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PWACTIVEXIMGCTL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://216.249.24.143/code/PWActiveXImgCtl.CAB

    --------------------------------------------------
     
  4. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    Check your available resources by right-clicking My Computer; clicking Properties; Click the Performance tab. Resources available are displayed as percent there at top. Check it when you get done running the System Configuration Utility mentioned below.

    Click the Start button; Run; type 'msconfig', without the quoatation marks, in the Run box and click OK; Then click the Startup tab; Uncheck anything you don't need running in the background. For reference on what's not needed running in the background in the System Configuration Utility, view this website first and print out the list:

    http://www2.whidbey.net/djdenham/Running_items.htm

    It's important that you print out the above mentioned list. The site provides a printer friendly link.
     
  5. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    You've got a spyware browser plugin:

    SideStep

    Download BHODemon, launch the program, and locate SBCIE026.DLL (it's the only one you have).

    Highlight it, click 'details', and in "Select Status" click disabled

    Click OK, and close the program.

    Now go to Internet Options > Temp Internet Files > Setttings > Show objects, and find and remove the SideStep/SBCIE026.DLL ActiveX object.

    As for your hyperlinks, first in Internet Options > Temp Internet Files hit "delete files".

    Now go to IE tools/internet options/programs and turn on the check box for IE to check if it is the default browser. Shut down and restart IE. When it asks to be default browser, say yes.

    This is absolutely vital if your hyperlinks are to work.

    Also do the following:

    Go to Start/Run, and type each line separately, followed by clicking OK:

    regsvr32 Shdocvw.dll
    regsvr32 Oleaut32.dll
    regsvr32 Actxprxy.dll
    regsvr32 Mshtml.dll
    regsvr32 Urlmon.dll

    After each time you click OK, you should get a dialog box notifying you that your dll has been registered successfully.

    After registering all dlls, reboot, and see whether that has fixed the problem.

    If no joy, take a look at the following article:

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q177054 : Internet Shortcuts in Outlook Express Do Not Start Web Browser
     
  6. jageorge72

    jageorge72 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Well, did everything mentioned, and still no luck.

    One thing I did notice after reading that article, it said about viewing files types, and what they open with...... I only have 1 URL listing, whereas they mentioned four.
    URL:File Transfer Protocol
    URL:Gopher Protocol
    URL:Hypertext Transfer Protocol
    URL:Hypertext Transfer protocol with Privacy

    Either way, all other links seems to work for me, except the Yahoo "more" links for their news articles. Grrrr.....

    Any other ideas?:)
     
  7. jageorge72

    jageorge72 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Here's something VERY odd/interesting........

    With the current articles on the Yahoo front page, the "more" buttons on the "Gov. Ryan commutes..." & "No Survivors found at Peru...." articles do NOT work.

    The "more" buttons on the "Microsoft settles..." & "Sports Columnist Will McDunough..." articles DO work!
    :confused:
     
  8. jageorge72

    jageorge72 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Any other ideas? It's still happening. Anyone?:(
     
  9. duckbill

    duckbill

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    I have the same problem with Yahoo. For example this is the address that I get when I click the "Iraq War" link from the news page:

    http://rd.yahoo.com/dailynews/iraq/leftnav/*http://news.yahoo.com/iraq

    It should be the URL after the "*" but I get the whole string instead and I get the "The page cannot be displayed" error page. Any suggestions?
     
  10. sekirt

    sekirt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,998
    I know this isn't the "solution" you were looking for, but try this, maybe you will like it better:

    http://news.google.com/


    sekirt
     
  11. JustMe2

    JustMe2

    Joined:
    May 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,047
    First Name:
    Crystal
  12. duckbill

    duckbill

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Yep, I found that thread after I posted the message above and it worked like a charm. No more problems with Yahoo links. Thanks again!
     
  13. Dan Mc

    Dan Mc

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 1999
    Messages:
    665
    Instead of clicking the "more" text, try clicking the headline instead...it does the same thing, but may eliminate your problem.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/112654

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice