VHS to DVD questions (Mulder?) ...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

colin72

I have some questions about transferring VHS to DVD (I definitely want to burn DVDs).

So you know where I'm coming from, I knew nothing about transferrring VHS to DVD until I started reading last week (including threads on this forum). My head is still spinning from all the info. I'm a novice when it comes to computers.

1) I've realized I need to buy a new computer. I'm looking at a Dell (one of these). Considering I want to do transferring, what specs should I be sure to have (and not spend over $800 if possible)?

2) I want to combine scenes from multiple VHS tapes. Will there be any problems doing this with a 160GB hard drive?

3) What are the advantages/disadvantages to using ADS Instant DVD (or a similar product) compared to installing a video capture card (and comparing cost)?

4) I don't have a digital camcorder, but if I get one in the future what do I need to be sure my new computer has to be able to transfer my movies directly to the hard drive?

Thanks!

colin72 said:
I have some questions about transferring VHS to DVD (I definitely want to burn DVDs).

So you know where I'm coming from, I knew nothing about transferrring VHS to DVD until I started reading last week (including threads on this forum). My head is still spinning from all the info. I'm a novice when it comes to computers.

1) I've realized I need to buy a new computer. I'm looking at a Dell (one of these). Considering I want to do transferring, what specs should I be sure to have (and not spend over $800 if possible)?

2) I want to combine scenes from multiple VHS tapes. Will there be any problems doing this with a 160GB hard drive?