1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Video Capture Device = Need Help

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by BearKiller, Jul 5, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BearKiller

BearKiller Thread Starter

I have been using an iO-Data video capture device for several years = until now, always via a 32' "Active" USB cable connected to any of three different desk-top/tower computers.
    Doing thus, my colors have always been pretty good.

Then, a bolt of lightning took out my 32' USB cable; it is now as dead as 4-O'Clock (I have always been told that that is about as dead as it gets)

Until I can come up with enough money to get another cable, I came up with the bright idea to put a laptop where the far end of the cable had been, capture my video on the laptop, and then transfer it over to the desk-top that I have sort of dedicated as my video headquarters.

Using the laptop in thus fashion works out fairly well with one flaw; colors are not true; things that are light yellow on the TV screen are orange in my video; things that are orange are really orange; and, peoples faces, arms, and legs are reddish orange.

This problem is not restricted to viewing on the laptop; everything is orange when viewing on either of the desk-top machines as well.

I tried a different laptop and had the same problem, except maybe only 63% as bad.

Connecting the device to a desk-top and running a quality 50' RCA composite cable yields correct colors, but the video constantly has bars rolling up like our TV used to do when I was a youngster; this eliminates the capture device as the culprit.

All machines are Windows 7; one laptop is HP, the other Dell.
    Both laptops display photo images with true colors.