video capture??

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

thymekiller

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2004
Messages
283
I am contemplating buying a geforce fx 5200 video card. It has an s-video connector. My question is, can I use this card for video capture?? I'm new to this, but I am looking for a card that will allow me to get videos from my VHS ccamcorder, and convert them into VCD's. I know I will also need software, but I just wanted to know if this card is capable of video capture?? Thanks for all input!!!
thyme
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
The FX 5200 card is descriptive of the chipset only there are many versions of the card. It is a "budget" video card.

Some will have Video In and Video Out (ViVo), but many will not.

Most will have just Video Out (TV Out).

Video in will work for capture and software should come with the card. My experience has been that the purchase of a TV card will give a video capture facility (on most TV cards) and that is usually easier to use than a combined Video/Video In capture card. Plus you get the advantage of a TV card.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
8,812
Allows the card to output video to a TV set.. But, because of the resolution of a TV set, and the scan rate conversion, it'll look like *@#$ compared to a good monitor.
 

thymekiller

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2004
Messages
283
Well, maybe this is a goofy question, but why would anyone want to output to a TV, after spending all this money on graphics for the computer?? I guess if thats all this thing does, then I'll not buy it. I'm looking for a good card for video capture from an analog camcorder. I was under the mistaken impression that if the card had an s-video connector, that I could just plug it into my camcorder, and capture videos from the camcorder. Guess I was wrong. Thanks very much for all the info.!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
People use it to output DVD's to a larger screen. Its OK with a DVD, just lousy with text.

A card with ViVo also uses the S-Video type connector (they have extra pins though), and a special patch cable to interface the Video in and Out. You can't tell by looking if they have ViVo or just Vo (TV Out).

I have a GF4 MX460, a budget card but it has ViVo. I prefer to use the separate TV card I fitted for capture though, its a better capture result I find plus easier to use.
 

thymekiller

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2004
Messages
283
Thanks for the info!!! I have an HP Pavilion, P4 processor, 512 MB RAM, running XP home, 1 40 GB HD, and 1 60 GB HD. Can anyone recommend a good capture card???
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top