1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

video capture??

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by thymekiller, Jan 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. thymekiller

thymekiller Thread Starter

I am contemplating buying a geforce fx 5200 video card. It has an s-video connector. My question is, can I use this card for video capture?? I'm new to this, but I am looking for a card that will allow me to get videos from my VHS ccamcorder, and convert them into VCD's. I know I will also need software, but I just wanted to know if this card is capable of video capture?? Thanks for all input!!!
    thyme

2. kiwiguy

kiwiguy

The FX 5200 card is descriptive of the chipset only there are many versions of the card. It is a "budget" video card.

Some will have Video In and Video Out (ViVo), but many will not.

Most will have just Video Out (TV Out).

Video in will work for capture and software should come with the card. My experience has been that the purchase of a TV card will give a video capture facility (on most TV cards) and that is usually easier to use than a combined Video/Video In capture card. Plus you get the advantage of a TV card.

3. thymekiller

so what exactly does the tv-out connector do???

4. gotrootdude

gotrootdude

Allows the card to output video to a TV set.. But, because of the resolution of a TV set, and the scan rate conversion, it'll look like *@#$ compared to a good monitor.

5. thymekiller