1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Video card and onboard video failed. Power supply problem?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ACA529, Sep 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ACA529

    ACA529 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6,117
    My video card first started acting up. It would switch to my onboard video, then back to my video card, then back the forth until the video card stopped working. I tested my video card in a different PC and it works fine. Now my onboard video has stopped working. I have a cheap power supply in my computer. Do you think it's the PSU?

    I need some advice.

    Thanks
     
  2. Cybershaman

    Cybershaman

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Just off of the top of my head...knee jerk reaction...my guess is... <drum roll please>

    Connection trouble! Try your monitor on a different machine. Check for missing/bent pins...

    Hope this helps! :)
     
  3. ACA529

    ACA529 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6,117
    It's not the monitor. Thanks though. I already have tried it in a different computer.
     
  4. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    Please post your system specs, To include Make and model System if Big Box, or same info for the following if custom or home built, Mother Board (including Revision number), Processor (Exact Model Number), Ram, Video Card, Hdd(s), Optical Drive(s), Power Supply Manufacturer Model, Wattage and Amperage on the +12V Rails, OS, and any other peripherals installed on the motherboard.
     
  5. ACA529

    ACA529 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6,117
    Hi,

    Asus M2NPV-VM
    AMD Athlon 3500+ AM2
    EVGA Nvidia Geforce 7600GT
    250GB WD Hard Drive
    2GB Ram (Not sure which brand)
    LG DVD-RAM drive

    Thanks!
     
  6. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    You failed to provide the informtion about your power supply.
     
  7. ACA529

    ACA529 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6,117
    Hi,

    It's a Retail Plus 450W PSU.

    Thanks
     
  8. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    Retail Plus? This name alone does not scream ot Quality. I think you may just have named your problem. To verify this you would want to jump in a Known Good (one that is known towork in a computer (new does not mean known good)) power supply as a test.
     
  9. ACA529

    ACA529 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6,117
    Ok will do. Thanks!
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1018621

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice