1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Video card freezes game

Discussion in 'Games' started by BumontheRun, Apr 10, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BumontheRun

    BumontheRun Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    180
    I'm having some problems with my video card. I got a radeon 9600 pro, and whenever i play cs my comp freezes after playing for less then a minute and then comes back because of the vpu recovery thing. It keeps freezing like 10 seconds after it comes back. I have the latest drivers.

    How can i fix it?
     
  2. Horowitz

    Horowitz

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Do you have it overclocked at all? Even the overdrive feature that you put the check mark in the advanced display properties?
     
  3. BumontheRun

    BumontheRun Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    180
    no i never did that. it only happens with cs. i tried bf1942 and it worked fine.
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,923
    First Name:
    Rob
  5. Derrick

    Derrick

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    You said you have the latest drivers? The best drivers ive found are the 3.9 catalist version try those ans see if it helps.
     
  6. BumontheRun

    BumontheRun Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    180
    actually i posted on the steam forums and they said to try different drivers. i tried the omega ones, they didnt help. then i tried the dna drivers, they made it a lot better, now it doesnt happen as frequently as before, but it still happens.
     
  7. McTimson

    McTimson

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    What is the make/model of your power supply?

    What video card did you have prior to the Radeon 9600 Pro?
     
  8. BumontheRun

    BumontheRun Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    180
    idk how that would make a difference, ive had this card for like 6 months i think, now it just started givin me problems...

    but the case is a atec one, so im guessin they made it, i had a nvidia ghefore 4mx 420 before i think.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/219050

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice