1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Video Card Issue

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by YamiPrem, Nov 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. YamiPrem

    YamiPrem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Hi,

    First post here - j/s. :)

    Anyway, I'll explain this quick.

    I bought a HD 5670 a week ago, it has been giving me some problems with multicoloured lines on screen. I've done the elimination process and it's defo the card. The onboard chip works fine. The lines only appears sometimes though and usually only when I turn it on in the mornings.

    Here's a screenie of the issue:
    http://img89.imageshack.us/img89/3580/linesi.png

    Returned the card to the store as they had to take my word for it as faulty (their test machine was bust).

    Got my money back and am going to use it to buy a better card - HD 6850.

    The worry is that, what if that card also creates problems? Then it'd clearly be the motherboard's fault, huh? What then? Only option I see is to get a refund for the PC as well. (It's about 2 weeks old.)
     
  2. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    If you bought a factory built PC,you are probably looking at
    upgrading the power supply to be able to use an add on
    video card.
    Factory power supplies are usually pretty weak and may
    not be able to provide enough power for the add in card.
    What model computer is it?
     
  3. YamiPrem

    YamiPrem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Sorry, didn't mention, I upgraded the PSU as well to a 500W one (stock was 350W). The card is gone now, so no need troubleshooting it. I'm just worried for the future, in case it arises.

    The computer is an Advent DT1308. Picked it up cos' it was only 400 quid, and sporting a i5 processor, I had to get it. It's now not on sale from where I bought it - PC World.
     
  4. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    OK,what is the brand of the power supply you are using?
    Cheap power supplies usually don't come close to providing
    their peak rated output.
    Talk about coincidence.
    My power supply gave the ghost right after I posted here.:)
     
  5. YamiPrem

    YamiPrem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    It's an OCZ StealthXStream 2 500W. Is that a good one?
     
  6. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Yes,that's a good choice.
    Don't see that being the problem.
    Should have enough steady output to handle it.
     
  7. YamiPrem

    YamiPrem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    We'll just say it was a faulty card. :)

    Anyway, if the problem persists on my new one, what then?
     
  8. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Make sure you drivers are up to date.
    Graphics glitches are usually caused by the
    video card,but in the case that it happens again
    you might just return it to the way it was and take
    it in for a replacement.
    It has to still be in warranty.
    If you bought it from the web site,get an RMA
    from them and send it back for replacement.
     
  9. YamiPrem

    YamiPrem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I mean, if it's the second GPU glitching up, isn't it a sign that it might not the GPU's fault?

    Could be the PCI-E slot or something, which entitles me to a refund/replacement, right?
     
  10. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Yes,I was talking about putting the old hardware back in the computer
    and Returning the entire computer for replacement.
     
  11. iRiguez

    iRiguez

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Faulty Card.
     
  12. YamiPrem

    YamiPrem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Kk, thanks.

    I'll see how it goes when the card arrives on Tues/Wednesday.
     
  13. YamiPrem

    YamiPrem Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Ugh.

    Was working fine till a reboot. Now I get the 'AMD driver stopped responind bla bla' error. This happens along with GPU artifacts popping on screen. This happens over and over again.

    Trying to fix this...

    UPDATE:
    Used CCleaner to disable everything that started up with Windows. It seemed to have fixed it.

    Will only enable those that I require from now on.
     
  14. jack-o-bytes

    jack-o-bytes

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,607
    Sorry about not inputting in this but may I ask where you got that background from?? I like the dark styling of it lol.
     
  15. jack-o-bytes

    jack-o-bytes

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,607
    never mind, Google is an amazing tool :)

    Jack-O-Bytes
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025422

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice