video card problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

missybay

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 16, 2004
Messages
5
I have a 4yr Patriot computer not sure what motherboard with 64mb. My problem is when I turn it on I get one short beep and either a blank screen or a " no input or cable missing error" depending on what monitor that I use. I have a second PCI video card that produces the same result. So I'm not sure if its the cards or the motherboard or what. Sure could use some guidance have had some training but this was many years ago so I'm a little out of date but quick to learn. ;)
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2003
Messages
198
Did this all the sudden just happen or did you try to upgrade form another vid card or do you have on-board graphics? If you have on-board graphics or a hardware conflict, that could be your problem... Monitor seems fine.
 

missybay

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 16, 2004
Messages
5
The computer has been off for about six months and I was attempting to clean it up for someone else when the trouble began. Monitors I have three are working fine and there isn't any on board graphics.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2003
Messages
198
Can you get into the bios? If you can see if there any "funkly" settings like an APG card set to PCI or something like that. Is there any other display devices on the computer? If not it seems like a hardware problem. You said you tried another card so something just might be messed in the bios or something physical (but not likely). Try a boot disk to see if you can get anything out of it.------> With the older computers if you place the IDE cbl from the HD or Disk drive wrong, it will do something like that. See to make sure that those are in right. (Wouldn't that suck?) If you messed with those that might be it. The newer computers have fittings so that won't happen.
 

missybay

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 16, 2004
Messages
5
I can't get into the bios and I've tried the cables and a boot disk. I was wondering if the PCI card that I've tried won't work because the original was an AGP card. I suppose it could be the PCI card is a dud also because it a used card thought I would try it for testing purposes.
 

missybay

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 16, 2004
Messages
5
The PCI card I have is a 3Dfx interactive ver2.0 but on the back it has and APG sticker don't really understand why. But the card is very big and has a lot of chips not sure if thats good or bad. This card also has Voodoo2 written on it. I 'm not sure if this is helpful or not.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2003
Messages
198
I'd say find another AGP card that you know works. Voodoo's have all kinds of problems plus are oldies in the hardware section. Try gettn' your hands on a Geforce (nVidia) or better yet a Radeon (ATI). Not anything too new or one that requires a extra power source from the Power Supply.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
A voodoo2 card is not a stand alone card it is an accelerator, it needs to be plugged into another card through an external jumper cable. That is why it won't work.
 
Joined
May 3, 2003
Messages
2,612
Following from what brite750 is saying the accelerator voodoo card is designed to run with a standard card in the AGP slot.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top