1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Video card question

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by tom8675, Jan 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tom8675

    tom8675 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Hi guys,
    I've finally worked out mainly from help here on techguy the specifications of my PC and PSU.
    I have dell inspiron 530, it has a free PCI-e 16x slot, the PSU is rated at 300W, 12V and 18amps.

    I'm going to buy a video card, which would be best to get that would run on my system?
    the two I had looked at were the 8600GT and the 7800GT. would these be compatible?
    (I'm aiming to spend on a failry small budget)

    And one final question, I currently have an integrated Intel GMA 3100 graphics system, would i have to remove this before putting the new one in or could it just be left?

    thanks for all your continued help at tech guy:),

    tom8675
     
  2. Waldo_II

    Waldo_II

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    339
    1. You won't have to "remove" the Intel GMA 3100- it is integrated into your motherboard. You may need to deactivate it in your BIOS, though.

    2. Both of those cards will work in your system, but you may (probably will) need a new PSU. NVidia recommends a 350-watt PSU for both of those cards. An underpowered video card will lead to many system crashes or freezes.
     
  3. tom8675

    tom8675 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    ok thanks for that.
    could you recommend a card that would mean i didn't have to replace my PSU?
    Also, how would I disable in the BIOS, im not familiar with that:confused:

    If it helps, the other components of my system are: 7200rpm hardrive, integrated soundcard, 1024MB ram, dual core 1.6GHz intel processor, DVD re-writer drive

    thank you
     
  4. gamerbyron

    gamerbyron

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,091
    What kind of computer do you have?
     
  5. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    You really want to upgade that power supply before anything else.
    It may be rated at 300 Watts,but that is a peak value and more
    than likely isn't going to take the load for long.
    Not worth screwing up your computer.
     
  6. tom8675

    tom8675 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    ok, so what sort of PSU should I upgrade to? Also, are they standard sizes and will defintely fit into my system (which is as I mentioned earlier a dell insprion 530)
     
  7. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Look at the back of the computer where the power supply is mounted.
    If it has a screw in each corner with one offset slightly toward
    the center,it is probably standard ATX.
    Antec is a good brand.
    You want to check and be sure,because sometimes Dell reverses a couple of wires
    on the main power connector.
    May want to check with dell.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/668832

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice