Video Drivers

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

MSDirector

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
154
Are the "plug and play" MS Windows 8.1 video drivers the same as the drivers from NVidia. If not, are they as good and can the NVidia drivers be substituted for them?
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
1,323
Windows uses the best available drivers, so if it is a popular gpu it is very likely that it will find and install the NVidia drivers, otherwise it will install generic drivers, and no those are not 'as good', not even close, you just get basic video. If you are not sure, check Device Manager, Display Adapters and look at the properties.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,117
Is your computer perchance a HP Compaq 6200 Pro Micro Tower Business PC?

----------------------------------------------------------
 

MSDirector

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
154
I have a Zotac GT430 (NVidia) that I used to have installed but now rely on the onboard Intel Video. I had RMA'd the 430 because of some problems but it was thoroughly tested successfully. When it was installed Device Manager only had an MS driver in there. The PC is an HP6200 Pro BTW with Win8.1
 

MSDirector

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
154
I have a Zotac GT430 (NVidia) that I used to have installed but now rely on the onboard Intel Video. I had RMA'd the 430 because of some problems but it was thoroughly tested successfully. When it was installed Device Manager only had an MS driver in there. The PC is an HP6200 Pro BTW with Win8.1
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,117
I have a Zotac GT430 (NVidia) that I used to have installed but now rely on the onboard Intel Video. I had RMA'd the 430 because of some problems but it was thoroughly tested successfully. When it was installed Device Manager only had an MS driver in there. The PC is an HP6200 Pro BTW with Win8.1
I'm not sure what you mean by "BTW".

Is it running Windows 8.1 32-bit or 64-bit?

What's the serial number on it?

--------------------------------------------------------
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,117
You didn't answer the last question.

----------------------------------------------------------
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,117
HP Compaq 6200 Pro

(I'm assuming you have the micro tower model and not the small form factor model)

Here is the Intel integrated graphics driver(sp66703.exe) for it - which supports Windows 8 and 8.1 32-bit. (y)

----------------------------------------------------------
 

MSDirector

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
154
SNMLX2104VQ, the microtower model. I always keep the drivers up to date but was just wondering if I should reinstall the GT430. I'm not a gamer, just do WP, and email.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,117
If you decide to use the NVIDIA GeForce GT 430 graphics card and you're not a gamer, I would select the custom install option and install only the display driver and not all the other extras.

The most current driver(347.52) for Windows 8.1 32-bit for that graphics card is here.

-----------------------------------------------------------
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,117
SNMLX2104VQ, the microtower model
The HP support center didn't recognize that serial number.

Did you make a typo?

-------------------------------------------------------------
 

MSDirector

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
154
sorry, not S but M as the 1st character. Good point on the NVidia drivers but I do play MS Train Simulator now and then.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,117
sorry, not S but M as the 1st character.
Neither SNMLX2104VQ nor MNMLX2104VQ were accepted.

Don't worry about it.

-------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top