1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Video-editing laptop...

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ian80, Apr 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ian80

ian80 Thread Starter

Hi guys,

I'll preface by saying my tech knowledge has certainly dipped in the last few years. In high school, I was right on top of all the specs, but things have advanced so much in the last few years, I feel I've fallen a little behind. I'm looking for some advice on a new laptop. I'm a stop-motion animator, and this will be my main work station. I need something that can handle video editing, video capture and smooth playback. I've been browsing TigerDirect.ca; how would these three compare?

Asus G71GX-RX05
    Asus K52Jr-X2
    Asus G51JX-X2

Where I get lost is comparing DDR2 with DDR3, or Intel i3 with i7. I'm left comparing apples to oranges, with no sense of which system comes out on top. I don't want to overpay for a power I don't need, but I also don't mind investing more if I am going to notice a considerable difference in perfomance. I'm assuming the G51JX is the better system, but is it $400 better?

Also, do you think I should consider the desktop route? Obviously, I would be getting a better system for considerably less (I tried comparing, but again, am feeling lost -- there is just too much variation out there anymore!). I am intrigued with the iPad, so that could always solve the portability issue. Desktops seem so limiting these days though...

Any advice, insight or comments are appreciated!

Ian

2. BruinBeer

BruinBeer