1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Video-Editing PC - Need Advice Choosing Mods

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by kainevan, Jan 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kainevan

kainevan Thread Starter

Im a Beginner PC modder, Never done it before, but i constantly find myself needing a higher performing PC, Im not interested in Mac's because frankly they irritate me. First time so please explain everything as if your talking to a 5 year old, Thanks...

Basically, Im modding a new PC. it's my first time and im looking for some advice, Im a Video-Editor and animator so processing and Ram is very important. I already have...

2 x Nvidia Geforce 9500 GT Super 1gb Graphics cards (For dual monitor setup)
    2 x Elite DDR2 4gb Ram memory sticks
    1 x 64bit version Vista
    1 x 500gb Sata hard-drive (sorry im unsure of specifics for the HDD)

I need to buy everything else to run this PC on a Budget of £300-£400
    Please can anybody reccomend me parts which are definetly compatible with the parts i have already listed.

I would like a quad core processor (One that supports 64bit vista)
    I particularly need to know which motherboard to buy (One that will support 64bit processor)
    The motherboard also needs to support my graphics cards and have 2 Ram slots for the 8gb ram i have.

I have absoloutly no idea what AC unit i should buy, fan?, heatsink? cooling? cables? case?
    these are things i really dont want to overlook, but in basics, I need, Motherboard and all the extras and a Processor, which is all compatible with eachother and will support vista 64bit and my graphics cards.