Video Prob's

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Coupy

Thread Starter
Joined
May 24, 2002
Messages
100
I have a nvidia tnt2 and when trying to play a game the system would crash. Doing anything else the pc was fine. I went and bought a new ATI 9000 64meg video card and i go to install it i turn power on and i can hear the pc working but i get no display what am i doing wrong?

Thnx for the help in advance

Coupy
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2002
Messages
184
You have to deinstall the drivers of your old video card first. Put it in back and go to drivers update in device manager. Here you change the driver to vga standard driver. Then turn off your computer and change the video cards. Install the new driver (download the latest detonator driver). If you have VIA chipset on your motherboard install first the latest VIA4in1 driver (actually V.4.45). Good luck.
 

Coupy

Thread Starter
Joined
May 24, 2002
Messages
100
Ok i got the card to install and everthing works fine until i play a video game the system crashes again. I reformatted and reinstalled winme and reinstalled driver for video card is there a chance its something else?
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2003
Messages
28
Hi, ME has a lot of problems with some nvidia cards, go to the microsoft compatability site, sorry address not immediately on hand, check out your card against the MS listings. Sometimes microsoft have patches, also try nvidia for patches. Am speaking from past experience, had to put 98 back on one of our comps due to this problem. I bet you are trying to play Mechwarrior4.
 

Coupy

Thread Starter
Joined
May 24, 2002
Messages
100
No its the new Ati Card I am using and i have put in the most recent driver. Sometimes it works and sometimes it crashes the pc
 

Coupy

Thread Starter
Joined
May 24, 2002
Messages
100
When reading the faq section of ati it directs me to a main board makers site how do i get the type of mainboard my pc has?
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2002
Messages
184
Download Aida32 here . And when you want to make sure what mainboard it is, then you have to open your case and take a look (usually in between the PCI slots) for your motherboard model. If you cannot find anything, then try here .
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top