1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Video Quality

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by Mikeybude25, Mar 29, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mikeybude25

    Mikeybude25 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Hi i have a sony DCRTRV33 cam corder and a p.c with the following specs

    P4 3.06GHz (HT)
    120 GB Deskstar HDD
    512 MB DDR RAM
    Gefroce FX5200 graphics card

    I am currently using a trial version of video studio to see if i can get the hang of video editing.

    What i want to do is take some video i have got on my cam corder and make some changes then burn it onto dvd. However when i do this the output quality is very poor, even though i have transfered it at the highest resolution the software will let me, 724*something! (sorry cant remember the resolution)

    Any suggestions on improving the quality would be great thanks

    Michael
     
  2. TheDJK

    TheDJK

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    How are you transferring the video: RCA, S-Video, Firewire?
     
  3. Mikeybude25

    Mikeybude25 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Im just using USB 2.0 from the camera into the back of the p.c. I havent got a video capture card, so i asume im using the graphics card in my pc????

    Would i be better off buying a seperate capture card and using firewire?

    If so which one would you suggest?

    Thanks

    Michael
     
  4. rextilleon

    rextilleon

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    325
    Firewire is the best way to do video transfers---When you say the quality is not good--could you be more descriptive. The process is as follows---

    1. Capture the video into the NLE---most NLE's will let you know if you are dropping frames---if you are not then you have essentially moved the date from your camera to your hard drive with no degradation.

    2. Next step would be to edit the piece--every change you make to the original footage will have to be rendered and depending upon the quality of the codec, there will be some loss of quality. I use Vegas as my NLE and the quality loss is negligable. I have never heard of Video Studio so I can't comment on the codec.

    3. Last step is to convert to MPEG2 (make sure its MPEG2) and burn to the DVD. MPEG does much compression and you should chose your best setting for this.
     
  5. Mikeybude25

    Mikeybude25 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Hi thanks for replying.

    By poor quality i mean that the resolution is very poor and very pixelated, im following all the steps you suggested, apart from using firewire, will this make a big improvement in the video quality?

    Thanks

    Michael
     
  6. ajdupont

    ajdupont

    Joined:
    May 17, 2001
    Messages:
    738
    Hi Mikeybude25
    When you say the output quality is poor do you mean before you burn to dvd or after.

    I've got a Sony DCRTRV 530 and also use Ulead Video Studio. Only difference is I do use a firewire and don't have a dvd burner. But I have burned to SVCD with no problems.

    Could be the firewire.
     
  7. Mikeybude25

    Mikeybude25 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Before i burn to dvd. I've had a look around a couple of other sites and the general response seems to be that if i use Firewire i should get a perfect picture, plus what you have just said pretty much backs it up.

    So looks like im off to spend some cash! ive seen a card that offers 3 firewire ports, but the only firewire cables ive been able to find cost around £20-£30, is this the normal price or does anyone know any cheap places i can get them?

    Thanks

    Michael
     
  8. rextilleon

    rextilleon

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    325
    The cables are very expensive---By the way, make sure that your fire wire card has a TI chipset---the others are terrible.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/215662

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice