video Upgrade

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

pblair

I need to upgrade The video in our family computer. The kids cannot play a game they recieved for Christmas. ( it needs 64mb on the video card) I am new to this but I know there are compatability issues to consider. I like our home computer because of its stability and do not want to sacrifice that. I believe the system is made up of:
NVIDA RIVA TNT2 model 64
32 mb
AGP bus

Pentium 4 SSE-2
1.4 Ghz
256 mb ram

I have not actually opened up the box to see what manufacturer the mother board is but This computer is a stock Sony PCV-RX550

Any help is appreciated. I want to upgrade but I do not need high dollar graphics I want to stay within a reasonable price range.

Paul

you have a 2x/4x agp slot, not sure a 4x/8x will work right, the 6600gt needs a lot of power has an additional 4 pin molex connection on the card, most of these types of cards have them and require a 350watt min power supply, although i did get by for a couple of weeks with a 300watt Antec psu until the new one showed up.

pblair

I found a e-Ge Force FX 5500. It lists AGP 8x/4x usage. Any thoughts on this one. I am concerned about the power usage though. Others mentioned this problem with doing an upgrade.

SirKenin

Banned
Stay the hell away from those FX video cards. They are crap. :( If you are looking in the low end, look towards an ATi Radeon 9550. I can't point you to an online source, but I checked one of my cost sheets the other day to find out it is still available to me for a very good price.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!