1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Video

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Shaman36, Jan 20, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Shaman36

    Shaman36 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Ok ..Here is the Problem..I tried to install a voodoo card and when I turned on my computer it clicked off ..So I took the new card out and now all I get is a black screen and the hard drive just keeps running ...Any Help ?
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Check the integrity of all the connections, especially the seating of the video card. If you don't get even a beep or two, you may have toasted the MB or P/S, but I'm betting it's something knocked loose in the installation of the other board.
     
  3. Shaman36

    Shaman36 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    I have checked all connections and nothing ...I still get nothing but a black screen and NO beeps
     
  4. ozinpho

    ozinpho

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Hi, do you have onboard video? If so go into CMOS and turn it back on.
     
  5. Shaman36

    Shaman36 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    I cant even get into CMOS ..All I get is a black screen when I try and boot my computer...
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Are you sure the monitor connection is secure? Is the other adapter onboard? If so, you may have to short the jumper on the motherboard to clear the CMOS settings.

    Also be sure you didn't bump the cpu or the ram chip(s) loose.....
     
  7. Shaman36

    Shaman36 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks I didnt think of that ..I will look at the Ram and see if there loose ..Then I will try and short the CMOS .....Again thank you ....
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/114371

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice